GOOD NEWS FROM SCHOOLS: UGA announces 2010 Coca-Cola scholarship recipients

Fourteen University of Georgia incoming freshmen -- including six from Gwinnett -- have been selected to receive the Coca-Cola First Generation Scholarship for the 2010-11 academic year.

The scholarship, funded by the Coca-Cola Foundation since 2007, supports academically outstanding students who are the first in their families to attend college.

Recipients must demonstrate financial need to be eligible. The scholarship provides $5,000 per year in addition to the HOPE Scholarship.

The award is renewable for an additional three years if the recipients maintain certain academic standards.

The 2010 Coca-Cola First Generation Scholars from Gwinnett are:

* Gabriel Cunningham of Duluth High School

* Erica Pena of Berkmar High School

* Douglas Hernandez of Duluth High School

* John Hyunwoo Park of Duluth High School

* Stephanie Romero of North Gwinnett High School

* Dan J. Myung of Duluth High School

Loganville students win Leaders and Achievers scholarship

The Comcast Foundation recently awarded 66 scholarships to Georgia high school seniors, including two students from Loganville, who excelled academically while demonstrating a commitment to their community.

The annual Leaders and Achievers Scholarship Program provides scholarships to students who strive to achieve their potential, who are catalysts for positive change in their communities, who are involved in their schools and who serve as models for their fellow students.

All students were nominated by their respective principals and were recognized at an Atlanta Braves game where they were joined by local and state elected officials.

The Loganville students selected were Kayla Cannella, who graduated from Grayson High School with a 4.0 grade-point average, and Taylor Calhoun, who graduated from Loganville High with a 3.9 GPA.

Since the program's inception there have been over 13,300 scholarship winners totaling more than $13.4 million.

National Merit names two more college-sponsored winners

Two Gwinnett County Public Schools recent graduates were recently notified that they are recipients of additional financial assistance as National Merit College-Sponsored Scholarship winners.

These two graduates, from Gwinnett's Collins Hill High and Parkview High, join 11 other Gwinnett students who were named as recipients of the college-sponsored scholarship earlier this summer.

The latest winners are Elizabeth K. Dyer of Parkview High, who received the National Merit University of Georgia Scholarship, and Sarah R. Nagy of Collins Hill High, who received the National Merit University of Oklahoma Scholarship.

These graduates are part of a group of 1,900 additional student winners nationwide who have earned the honor based on their high school academic performance. They each have earned a scholarship worth between $500 and $2,000 annually for up to four years of undergraduate study at the institution financing the scholarship.

Eleven 2010 graduates earn Georgia Scholars title

Eleven recent graduates of Gwinnett County Public Schools caught the attention of officials at the Georgia Department of Education, earning them recognition as Georgia Scholars.

The Georgia Scholars program honors graduating high school seniors from across the state who demonstrate excellence both in the classroom and out the school community.

This year's Georgia Scholars from Gwinnett are:

* Justin Aspinwall of Norcross High

* Justin Davis of Dacula High

* Jane Jurma of Grayson High

* Jessica Lukasik of Grayson High

* Midhun Mathew of Mill Creek High

* Sonia Mathew of Brookwood High

* Alison McIntosh of Grayson High

* Stephanie Millingen of Norcross High

* Jarrett Morgan of Grayson High

* Anna Simmons of Grayson High

* Steven Zwick of Mill Creek High

These graduates were selected based on a competitive application process which began early in their senior year. The Georgia Department of Education reviewed the students' SAT and ACT college entrance exam scores, grade point average, credits earned, along with their extracurricular activities and leadership initiatives in their local communities.

Heather Darenberg writes about education. Good News From Schools appears on Sunday.