Olivia Bamfo of Lawrenceville and Thomas J. Clark of Bethlehem have been selected to the Distinguished Achievement List at ABAC in Tifton. Both students completed between six and 11 hours of academic work while maintaining a 3.3 or higher GPA.

Lauren Elizabeth Ochs has been inducted into the Berry College Chapter of Kappa Delta Pi. Ochs, a junior early childhood education major, is the daughter of Joseph and Jean Ochs of Lilburn.

Shannon Hoye has been inducted into the Berry College Chapter of Sigma Delta Pi. Hoye is a junior early childhood education major and is the daughter of Charles and Terri Hoye of Lawrenceville.

Jordan Gotfredson of Samford University won first place in the 2009 regional student production competition sponsored by the National Broadcasting Society. Gotfredson, a sophomore from Duluth, won for her sports segment on the Spotlight Samford news program.

Lena Morrill was elected chair of the College Republican Federation of Virginia. Morrill, a student of Sweet Briar College in Virginia, is a resident of Lawrenceville.

Kelsey Queen of Duluth received the Mize-Infinity Scholarship at the University of Georgia College of Family and Consumer Sciences Donor-Scholar Awards Ceremony. Kelsey, a junior housing major, is the daughter of Daniel and Susan Queen of Duluth.

Sarah Elizabeth Carr of Dacula qualified for the Dean's List at Brewton-Parker College of Mount Vernon for the fall 2009 semester.

Joseph E. Fiala of Suwanee was awarded commission as a second lieutenant in the U.S. Army in a ceremony held Dec. 12 at North Georgia College & State University.

The following local students earned degrees from North Georgia College & State University:

From Braselton: William Thomas Howell, Master of Education; Andrew Blake Murphy, Bachelor of Science; Andrew Michael Longo, Bachelor of Business Administration; Leah O. Neal Springer, Bachelor of Science.

From Buford: Megan Elease McDaniel, Bachelor of Science; Megan Nicole Ryall, Bachelor of Arts; Lyndsay Brooke Reed, Associate of Science/Nursing; Kaylee Marie Seaton, Bachelor of Arts; Danielle Nicole Alexander, Bachelor of Science; Jordan Tobias Whiting, Bachelor of Arts; Jessica Mae Sanner, Bachelor of Arts; Linda Faye Clark, Associate of Science/Nursing.

From Dacula: Christopher Ricky Corn, Bachelor of Business Administration; Kristy Lynn Noble, Master of Education; Joanna Kay Carrega, Master of Science.

From Duluth: Joseph Richard Rector, Bachelor of Science; Samantha McWilliams Lewis, Bachelor of Science.

From Lawrenceville: Lorraine Carmela Villasenor, Bachelor of Arts; Malin Ida Sofia Hallberg, Bachelor of Arts; Patricia Wambui Kamau, Associate of Science/Nursing; Theresa Mazzone Roberts, Master of Science; Fabio Vargas Moraes, Associate of Science/Nursing.

From Lilburn: Tori Jo Fisher, Bachelor of Science.

From Loganville: Sonji S. Clarke, Associate of Science/Nursing. Laura Christine Daniel, Bachelor of Arts.

From Norcross: Matthew Earl Maddox. Bachelor of Science.

From Snellville: Lindsey Kaye Nelson, Bachelor of Business Administration.

From Suwanee: Joseph Edward Fiala, Bachelor of Business Administration; Stephanie Marie Amos, Bachelor of Science; Zhixia Xiang, Associate of Science/Nursing; James Marcus Thomas, Bachelor of Business Administration; Kristin Elizabeth Miller, Bachelor of Business Administration; Dawn Bennett Beasley, Bachelor of Science; Jared Matthew Valade, Bachelor of Business Administration.

The following students have been named as Dean's Scholars at Piedmont College for the 2009 fall semester:

Justine Clay, Virginia L. Davis, Cara Kenney, and Anthony Saputo, all of Buford. Nicholas C. Sridej of Dacula. Alyssa Paige Gmerek of Grayson. Michelle Ryan Broderick, Slyssa N. Sciavicco and Mary Helen, all of Lawrenceville. Maxwell T. Caron, Jamie. M. Dennis, and Melissa Hoffman, all of Lilburn. Alexander Beebe and Mary Ann Russell of Snellville. Ashlee L. Elford and Katherine A. Metz of Suwanee.

The following students have been named to the dean's list at Piedmont College for the 2009 fall semester:

Halley E. Jerkins and Katie E. Porter of Buford. Catherine H. Latoni, Melissa Milando, Cameron S. Parsons and Laura L. Puckett, all of Dacula. Stephanie Carlson of Duluth. Ashley N. Loftus, Hannah McKay and Nicholas Weatherby, all of Grayson. Stephanie N. Bignault, Kalin Demarrais, Zachary D. Kunz, Sara E. Lindsley, Jara Myers, Ashley Rutledge, Jasmine N. Severino and Erin Simonton, all of Lawrenceville. Scott Pratt of Norcross. Courtney P. Dixon, Brianna M. Foley and Jennifer A. Robbins of Sugar Hill. Amanda F. Beasley and Marguerite Jenny Shane of Suwanee.

Hilary Ann Utley of Lawrenceville and Shannon Elizabeth Whitt of Lilburn have been named to the dean's list at Union University for the 2009 fall semester.

Makensie Lant of Suwanee was named to the Fall 2009 dean's list at Centenary College.

Caitlin Quinn of Buford and Kelsey Vick of Snellville received diplomas as commencement exercises at Harding University Dec. 19. Quinn received a Bachelor of Science and Vick graduated with a bachelor's degree in early childhood education.

The following local students were awarded bachelor's degrees from Flagler College at the fall commencement ceremony Dec. 12:

Rebecca Lynne Hendrian of Snellville received a degree in political science sociology and graduated cum laude.

Nathanael Van Der Sluys of Snellville received a degree in history.

Nathan Epley of Norcross received a bachelor's degree in exercise science at commencement exercises at Harding University Dec. 19.

The following local students were recently awarded degrees from Gardner-Webb University at fall commencement exercises:

Phillip Peoples, Matthew Jones and Samuel Peyton.

Jerrod C. Grace of Lilburn received a degree from the University of Tennessee at Martin during the recent fall commencement.

The following local students recently graduated from the Savannah College of Art and Design:

Rebecca Flores of Grayson earned a degree in fashion.

Jeffrey John Dimaggio of Lawrenceville earned a degree in animation.

Richard Eugene Summers of Lawrenceville earned a degree in interactive design/game development.