North Gwinnett to induct hall of fame newcomers Friday

North Gwinnett High School will induct 14 individuals and five teams into its athletic hall of fame this Friday between its home varsity basketball games against South Forsyth.

Among the teams being honored is the 2009 girls cross country state championship squad, which will receive its state title rings at the ceremony. The 2008 football, 2009 girls swimming, 2009 girls soccer and 2008 girls cross country teams also are slated for induction this week.

Three girls soccer players -- Kelly Penston, Jessica Sapp and Megan Kolts -- are among the inductees, as are softball players Brittany Broome and Kacey Martin and cheerleaders Sarah Reagin and Brittni Westfall.

Equestrian Brittlan Wall, volleyball player Megan Carnell and runner Nicole DiMercurio, inducted in both cross country and track, also will be honored.

North boys entering the hall of fame are football players Mikey Tamburo and Tyler Jarry and baseball players Wyatt Brown and Taylor Forrester.