BOE names principals

SUWANEE -- The Gwinnett County Board of Education recently approved the appointment of five educators to new leadership roles.

The appointments were announced Thursday evening during the school board meeting.

Penny Palmer Young, an assistant principal at Knight Elementary, will succeed Joe Ahrens as principal of Arcado Elementary. Ahrens is leaving to open the new Ferguson Elementary.

Lisa Marie Johnson, an assistant principal at Berkeley Lake Elementary, will lead Lawrenceville Elementary next year. The school's current principal, Dorothy Hines, is retiring at the end of the school year.

Kelly McConnachie, an assistant principal at Norcross Elementary, will be the principal at Rockbridge Elementary next year. Dion Jones is leaving to open the new Roberts Elementary.

Chandra Young, an assistant principal at Stripling Elementary, will lead Simonton Elementary next year. Dot Schoeller is moving to open Jenkins Elementary.

All four principal appointments are effective July 1. The incoming principals all graduated from the school district's Quality-Plus Leader Academy.

Additionally, McConnell Middle principal Paula Everett-Truppi has been named the new executive director of special education and psychological services, effective May 1. The current executive director, Susan White, is retiring.