Photo by Ben Beitzel

Photo by Ben Beitzel

DACULA -- Parkview's streak of consecutive Area 8-AAAAA dual championships ended last month.

The Panthers made sure to keep their traditional title streak alive. Parkview put eight wrestlers in the area finals at Dacula High School and had five individual winners to claim the championship.

"It's kind of what is expected from Parkview," senior Jesse Forte said. "We're not taking it lightly, so it's nice to win."

It's the seventh straight traditional area championship for the Panthers and 16th all-time for the program. Parkview had won the last six dual area titles prior to the streak ending last month.

"It means a lot," senior Matt Johnson said of the team crown. "It just shows we can come back from being the underdog to being on top again."

Parkview had 10 state sectional qualifiers, led by Forte, Johnson, Kevin Ulmer, Clint Jones and Ryan McFall who were area champs.

The top four wrestlers from each weight class advance to the state sectionals next week at Union Grove High School. The state tournament will be Feb. 18-20 at the Arena at Gwinnett Center.

Grayson was second in the team standings, followed by Brookwood and Dacula.

Grayson had nine wrestlers qualify for sectionals, led by Nick Isburgh and Zach George, who repeated as area champions. Isburgh scored in the final eight seconds to beat Parkview's Taz Torbit at 125 pounds and George posted a second-period pin over Brookwood's Thomas Hennessey.

Dacula's Brandon Bullock and Zeke Hunt also repeated as area champs. Bullock had a 2-1 win over Grayson's Denzel Harmon at 112 pounds and Hunt pinned Will Squires in the first period. Hunt, who was named the tournament's most outstanding middleweight wrestler, is 41-1 this season, with his only loss coming to Squires at the county tournament.

Brookwood qualified 10 for the state sectionals and Sean Thomas (103 pounds) and Chris Roman (171) won area titles.

Enrique Martinez notched a first-period pin over Parkview's Bradley Atkinson to become Berkmar's first area champion since Andre Mitchell and Tommy Jenks won titles in 2001.

"It's a great thing for him," Berkmar coach Mike Lancaster said. "He's worked so hard each year to make himself better."

Sophomore standout Ryan Mosley from Shiloh won the 119-pound area championship and was named most outstanding lightweight wrestler.

Central Gwinnett's Jacob Aiken-Phillips, who was named most outstanding heavyweight wrestler, continued his dominate season. The junior 285-pounder swept through the area tournament and improved his record 56-0 with 47 pins.

He joined Eric Rogers (99-01) and Sean Page (82-83, 85) as the only three-time area champs in school history.

11cf-96b8-444553540000" codebase=",0,0,0" name="soundslider" width="620" height="533" align="middle" id="soundslider">

flash" pluginspage="" />