Dacula student wins poster contest

High school senior Daniel Kroemer of Dacula placed first at the local level of The Art Institutes and Americans for the Arts "Life is Better with Art in it" Poster Design Competition.

Kroemer earned a $3,000 scholarship to be used toward tuition at The Art Institute of Atlanta - Decatur.

As the first place winner, Kroemer's design will be entered into the national stage of the competition, in which he will compete against other local winners from across North America for tuition scholarships. The grand prize winner of the national competition will be awarded a full tuition scholarship to study at The Art Institutes school they represent in the competition.

The competition was open to graduating high school seniors interested in pursuing an education in graphic design. Students submitted an original poster design, a current high school transcript and a statement describing their design process, and why they want to attend one of The Art Institutes schools. Through May 14, an industry panel of judges selected by The Art Institutes will assess each student's poster design based on the specified criteria by visiting the posters and designers' statements on The Art Institutes Web site.

Convocation highlights Brenau University student achievement

Brenau University recently celebrated academic and personal achievements of its best and brightest during the annual spring honors convocation at historic Pearce Auditorium on the Gainesville campus.

With faculty and administrators in full academic regalia and all the pomp and circumstance of a full-blown commencement exercise, honorees received everything from certificates of membership to Greek-lettered honor societies to cash awards to a "full ride" scholarship for next year and a unique piece of jewelry named in honor of an earlier Women's College graduate.

The following is a list of local students who received awards and citations during the Brenau convocation:

* Samantha Jo Jones, a senior from Auburn -- Business Administration Leadership Award.

* Aubrey Silva Vinke, a senior from Dacula -- Senior Award for Studio Art.

* Toryn Dawkins, a senior from Lawrenceville -- Senior Award for Arts Management.

* Amanda Evans, a junior from Stone Mountain -- Carol Smiarowski Memorial Dance Scholarship.

* Nayhenne Rosa, a freshman from Lilburn -- Outstanding Freshman in Dance.

* Andrada Pop, a freshman from Buford -- First-year Writing Award.

* Suzanne Harris, a sophomore from Lawrenceville -- Kitty Brothers Award.

* Lilian Bonilla, a junior from Lawrenceville -- Robin Smith Dudley Scholarship.

* Hoang Le, a junior from Lawrenceville -- Jane and Rafe Banks Scholarship.

* Hoang Le, a junior from Lawrenceville -- Steven W. Newell Award.

* Norma Mondragon, a senior from Sugar Hill -- Outstanding Undergrad Student of Year Award, Business Administration.

Heather Darenberg writes about education. Good News From Schools appears in the Sunday edition of the Gwinnett Daily Post.