Youth Roundup: Hawks win middle school softball championship

The Gwinnett Middle School Fastpitch Softball League finished its fifth season with Mill Creek taking the championship in the gold division.

The Hawks beat Collins Hill 1-0 in the tournament finals. The Hawks team is made up of girls from Osborne and Jones Middle Schools.

The Hawks team members are Morgan Bell, Kristin Cisewski, Amanda Cox, McKenzie Fagioli, Nicole Fronzak, Brooke Laughlin, Cheyanne Leger, Hannah Little, Jessie Oates, Anna Parks, Jaclyn Streeter and Lauren Welch. The Hawks were coached by Mike Fronzak.


Stix win Splendid Splinter Classic

The 12U Suwanee Stix baseball team won the JB Athletics Splendid Splinter Classic in Monroe on Sept. 26-27.

The team went 5-0, including a 5-4 extra inning victory over the East Cobb Colt .45's in the championship game.

Team members and coaches are Riley Burns, Matt Hausser, Blair Redmond, Trevor Austin, Sammy Strausser, J.P. Baselj, Justice Leonardo, Timothy Chun, Connor Darling, Kyle Shumeyko, Tanner Hanes, David Darling, Mike Hausser, Neil Burns, Dave Hanes and Greg Singleton.

Oswald shines in three games

Hebron Baptist Church baseball player Evan Oswald had base hits in three games in two days. The 11-year-old from Dacula played in a doubleheader Oct. 5 and a single game on Oct. 6. During the three-game stretch, Oswald batted .875 with eight runs scored.

Team Elite claims title

Team Elite 18's Black won the WWBA tournament championship at East Cobb Oct. 2-5, beating East Cobb Titans, Atlanta Blue Jays, East Cobb Astros, Mark Gresham Baseball and the Upstate Mavericks.

By winning this tournament, Team Elite received an invite and will be playing as one of the 80 teams in the WWBA World Championship in Jupiter, Fla., on Oct. 22-26.

The team features players from Collins Hill, Mill Creek, and North Gwinnett high school players.

Team members are Chad White, Chris Hawkins, Colby Runnels, Conner Shovelski, Daniel Szathmary, Grant Earls, Greg Brody, James Buckelew, Jerad Curry, Jeremy Burns, John Clark, Luke Tindol, Matt Grimes, Mitch Crutchfield, Morgan Owenby, Nick Boutwell, Nick Jones, Oliver Pratt, Seth Bancroft, Trey Mills and Zack Mays.

The team is coached by Shane Hopper, Brooke Richards, Chance Reynolds, Keith Lockhart, Ray Benzor and Romas Hicks.


AFU wins Columbus Day tourney

The Atlanta Fire United U10 boys gold soccer team won the U10 elite division in the Columbus Day Tournament held at Scott Hudgens Park

Team members are Charlie Eidex, Leo Ramos, Nathan Sherbert, Peyton Rawson, Angello Lazar, Kenneth Paul, Alex LoCicero, Dalton Seckinger and Cole Michel. The team is coached by Gregg Tavani.

To be included in the youth roundup, fax information to 770-339-8081 or e-mail to brandon.brigman@gwinnettdailypost.com. This feature runs as space permits.