ELECTION 2009 RESULTS: Lee, Carpenter, Donnelly win Berkeley Lake council seats

Updated 10:43 p.m.

Berkeley Lake

Scott Lee, Anne Carpenter and Jim Donnelly have been elected to the Berkeley Lake City Council.

The trio will fill seats being vacated by Walter Anderson, Debbie Guthrie and Tom Kitchens, none of whom sought re-election.

Updated 10:40 p.m.


Bill Orr, a businessman who wants to steer the city through a rough economy, won election as the city's fifth mayor, taking more than 72 percent of the vote.

Realtor Peggy Slappey beat political consultant Bill Greene for a seat on the City Council.


Mayor Jimmy Wilbanks won a third consecutive term, winning by nearly a two-to-one margin.

Councilman Greg Reeves took 223 votes to Gene Greeson's 166, according to the unofficial tally.

Councilman Wendell Holcombe was unopposed for re-election.

Updated 10:25 p.m.


Mayor Jim Hinkle landed 260 votes against just 54 for Damon Ladd-Thomas in unofficial results.

In City Council, Allison Rooks (Post 2) and Marcus Hinton (Post 4), both unopposed, collected 278 and 272 votes, respectively.

Updated 10:15 p.m.


Unofficial election results indicate longtime Winder City Councilman Mike Mingus has been unseated by former longtime Barrow Board of Education member Robert Dixon.

Dixon garnered 513 of 705 total votes and will hold one of two at-large council seats. Mingus drew 192 votes.

Incumbent James Lester "Sonny" Morris, who holds the Ward 1 seat, was re-elected Tuesday night, receiving 138 of 160 votes. His opponent, Don Graden, garnered 22.


The City Council Post 2 seat, recently vacated by Jeanne Rispin, was won by Dick Goodman with 775 votes. Goodman's opponent, Winship Rees, received 597 votes.

The Post 3 council seat was won by incumbent Kevin McOmber with 783 votes. Opponent Don Trawick took 595 votes.

Incumbent Jace Brooks won the Post 4 seat with 753 votes, while opponent Brad Alexander received 618 votes.

Unopposed incumbent Dan Foster was re-elected to the Post 5 council seat.

Updated 8:45 p.m.


Tom Witts, Barbara Bender, Mike Sabbagh win Snellville council seats. Revitalization referendum fails.

Updated: 8:30 p.m.

Sugar Hill

Sugar Hill Mayor Gary Pirkle held on to win his third term, besting Andy Sudderth 699 to 634.

Councilman Mike Sullivan won a second term while Curtis Northrop slid by Shohn Tanner to win the seat being vacated by Nick Thompson.


Duluth's council election is headed for a runoff. Billy Jones edged Elise Whitworth in the race to replace Jim Hall on the council, but he was well shy of the majority needed to avoid a Dec. 1 runoff.


Political newcomer Danny Curry was the top vote-getter over three council incumbents. With the lowest number of votes, Pedro Vega was ousted.

Only six votes divided the results of a city referendum to switch council terms from two years to four years. The referendum passed 193 to 187.


In a contest where voters chose three of eight council contenders, incumbents Gayle Steed and Betty Lyle won new terms. They will be joined by political newcomer David Huth.