'Master Teachers' named

LAWRENCEVILLE - Twelve Gwinnett County Public Schools teachers have earned the "Master Teacher" certification, a designation based on appreciable gains in student achievement, officials said.

Georgia's Master Teacher Certification Program was championed by Gov. Sonny Perdue during the 2005 legislation session and is coordinated by the Georgia Professional Standards Commission. It provides statewide recognition to certified public school teachers in Georgia who have at least three years of teaching experience and who consistently demonstrate instructional excellence through student achievement.

"We congratulate our 12 teachers for their hard work and perseverance in earning this certification," GCPS spokesman Jorge Quintana said. "This recognition as a 'master' teacher is testament to their dedication to teaching and learning."

The new Gwinnett Master Teachers are:

· Mandee Jablonski of Berkmar Middle School

· Angela D. Moore of Creekland Middle School

· Jennifer Burley of Duluth Middle School

· Katharine Page of Craig Elementary School

· Kimberly M. Griffin of Berkmar Middle School

· Laura Daly Gordon of Creekland Middle School

· Lauren Elizabeth Pressley of Berkmar Middle School

· Lisa L. Williams of Alton C. Crews Middle School

· Nikole Davis of Glenn C. Jones Middle School

· Tiffany Tatum of Trickum Middle School

· Tim Mullen of J.E. Richards Middle School

· Wendy McDonald of G.H. Hopkins Elementary School