David, Harrison top 8-AAAAA honors

Central Gwinnett's Dria David and South Gwinnett's Adonis Harrison were selected as the Region 8-AAAAA girls and boys players of the year in voting by the region's coaches.

The coaches also selected all-region teams.

David was joined on the girls All-8-AAAAA team by Parkview's Lauren Coleman and Katie Carroll and Berkmar's Tyra Smith and Brittany McDonald. Parkview's Mike McCoy was girls coach of the year.

The girls second team included Shiloh's Alyssa Aitken, Parkview's Megan Barnidge, Berkmar's Gabby Harvey, Brookwood's Katie Mallow and Grayson's Taren White. Brookwood's Jazmine Jackson, Grayson's Erika Joseph, South's Lindsay Nagy, Berkmar's Mariah Richardson and Dacula's China Vinson were named honorable mention.

The boys first team all-region featured Harrison and teammate Mario Vasser, Dacula's Brian Cole, Central Gwinnett's Brian Williams and Meadowcreek's Jarvis Brown.

Berkmar's Nick Henry, Brookwood's Chris Bolden, Meadowcreek's Charles Johnson, Parkview's Rachard Lofton, Dacula's Matt Marseille and South's Xavier Chargois made the second team. The honorable mention selections were Brookwood's Thomas Higginbotham and Lavon Hooks, Meadowcreek's Dominique McKoy, Central's Jordan Adams and Grayson's Javarris Smith.