Pridgen tops TD Club honorees

Wesleyan head coach Franklin Pridgen was named the state Coach of the Year for all classifications by the Touchdown Club of Atlanta, which announced its season-ending honors.

Pridgen also was named Coach of the Year in Class A after leading the Wolves to their first football state title in December. Buford head coach Jess Simpson, who led his team to its second state title in a row, was the AA Coach of the Year.

Pridgen and Simpson are among the locals that will be honored at the 71st TD Club of Atlanta Awards Banquet, scheduled for Feb. 7 at Georgia State's Rialto Center for the Arts.

The club also selected Gwinnett football players to its Nissan Metro Atlanta All-Star Team - Norcross' D.J. Adams, North Gwinnett's Mikey Tamburo, Brookwood's Kellen Williams and Buford's Dallas Lee and Cody Getz.

Aaron Murray of Tampa Plant (Fla.) and Abry Jones of Northside-Warner Robins will receive awards at the banquet for being the Bobby Dodd national high school back and lineman of the year, respectively.

Several college players also will get awards, including Florida's Tim Tebow, Ole Miss' Michael Oher, Tennessee's Eric Berry and Florida State's Everette Brown and Graham Gano. The club's ACC and SEC coaching awards will go to Paul Johnson of Georgia Tech and Houston Nutt of Ole Miss.