10 more schools added to Title I list

SUWANEE - Ten additional Gwinnett County schools with a high percentage of students living in poverty will receive more federal funding this year.

Berkmar High, Central Gwinnett High, Knight Elementary, Norcross High, Rosebud Elementary, Shiloh Middle, Snellville Middle, Sycamore Elementary and the Gwinnett InverVention Education (GIVE) Centers East and West have been designated Title I schools, increasing the number of Gwinnett schools that receive additional funding to 42.

"While all Gwinnett schools have access to a variety of resources which support student learning, our Title I schools enjoy an even greater amount of assistance," Gwinnett County Public Schools spokesman Jorge Quintana said. "Parents in our new Title I schools will certainly notice and benefit from the additional help that will support the academic success of their students."

Gwinnett will receive $23.5 million in federal funding for its Title I schools this year, Quintana said. In addition, another $19.1 million in stimulus funds will be available for the next two school years.

Title I funding helps pay for additional resources for students, teachers and parents. Examples include extended learning programs for students, additional instructional materials, staff development opportunities for parents and workshops for parents. The money can also be used to hire additional teachers, an instructional coach to support teacher needs and improve student performance, and a parent instructional support coordinator to assist parents and link them with community resources.

The district's other Title I schools are Alford Elementary, Annistown Elementary, Beaver Ridge Elementary, Benefield Elementary, Berkmar Middle, Bethesda Elementary, Britt Elementary, Cedar Hill Elementary, Centerville Elementary, Chesney Elementary, Corley Elementary, Hopkins Elementary, Kanoheda Elementary, Lawrenceville Elementary, Lilburn Elementary, Lilburn Middle, Meadowcreek Elementary, Meadowcreek High, Minor Elementary, Nesbit Elementary, Norcross Elementary, Norton Elementary, Partee Elementary, Peachtree Elementary, Radloff Middle, Richards Middle, Rockbridge Elementary, Simonton Elementary, Stripling Elementary, Summerour Middle, Sweetwater Middle and Winn Holt Elementary.

Of those, 28 are Distinguished Title I schools, which earn the state honor by excelling in meeting achievement goals. Schools that earn this label for two or more years earn monetary awards.