Spring music
Gwinnett orchestra's concert set for Tuesday

DULUTH - Spring won't be the only thing in the air Tuesday evening as the Gwinnett Symphony Orchestra and Chorus fills the night with music.

In its formal spring concert, Gwinnett Symphony Orchestra and Chorus will present its Masterworks Concert VII at the Gwinnett Center.

The orchestra will be joined by guest artists and all-female percussion group Chix with Stix for a performance of French composer and pianist Georges Bizet's "Carmen Suite." Dancers with the Northeast Atlanta Ballet will perform during the orchestra's rendition of "Polovitsian Dances."

The chorus is set to perform excerpts from Handel's "Messiah," American composer John Williams' "Hymn to the Fallen" and "Call of the Champions," Gilbert Martin's "When I Survey the Wondrous Cross" and composer-arranger Kirby Shaw's "Bridge Over Troubled Water."

Tuesday's concert will begin at 7 p.m., and tickets can be purchased through Ticketmaster or at the Gwinnett Center Box Office open from 10 a.m. to 5 p.m. weekdays.

For more information on the Gwinnett Symphony Orchestra and Chorus or its concert, visit www.gwinnettsymphony.org.

SideBar: If You Go

· What: Masterworks Concert VII

· When: 7 p.m. Tuesday

· Where: Gwinnett Center, 6400 Sugarloaf Parkway, Duluth

· Cost: $12 to $18

· For more information: Call 770-925-8900 or visit www.gwinnettsymphony.org