Collins Hill sweeps county coaches' wrestling awards

The Gwinnett County Takedown Club held its season-ending awards banquet on Monday at North Gwinnett High School.

Collins Hill, which won dual and traditional state championships this past season, won all three major awards. Three-time state champ Taylor Knapp was named wrestler of the year, head coach Cliff Ramos received coach of the year, and the Eagles were honored as team of the year.

Buford's Scottie Forrester received the Sportsmanship Award and North Gwinnett's Steve Epps was given the Matt Peddicord Award for comeback wrestler. Brandon Bentley, a former Parkview wrestler, was awarded the Randy Bortles Official of the Year and Bud Hennebaul was named the Takedown Club's man of the year.

The Takedown Club also announced its first and second all-county teams, which is voted on by the coaches, in addition to honorable mention and scholar-athletes.

The following wrestlers were named to those teams:


103: Bazell Partridge, Collins Hill, Soph.

112: Nick Isburgh, Grayson, Jr.

119: T.J. Mitchell, Collins Hill, Jr.

125: John Allgood, Collins Hill, Sr.

130: Joe Epps, Brookwood, Sr.

135: Billy Anderton, Buford, Sr.

140: Joel Smith, Collins Hill, Jr.

145: Sam Hoppenbrouwer, Collins Hill, Sr.

145: Nick Voss, Buford, Sr.

152: Gary Tiller, Collins Hill, Sr.

160: Colin Genthert, Wesleyan, Sr.

160: Taylor Knapp, Collins Hill, Sr.

171: Rasheed Manson, South Gwinnett, Sr.

189: Sam Kuntz, Peachtree Ridge, Sr.

215: C.J. Collins, Collins Hill, Jr.

285: Jacob Aiken-Phillips, Central Gwinnett, Soph.


103: Brandon Bullock, Dacula, Soph.

112: Caleb Sawchuck, Collins Hill, Sr.

119: Noah Hunt, Dacula, Sr.

119: Devante Brown, Central Gwinnett, Jr.

130: Josh Harrison, Mill Creek, Sr.

135: Alex Hillis, Parkview, Sr.

140: Zack George, Grayson, Jr.

145: Michael Chapman, Peachtree Ridge, Soph.

145: Jack Dunster, Grayson, Sr.

145: Lucas Austin, Shiloh, Sr.

152: Aslan Gigolaev, Peachtree Ridge, Sr.

152: Scottie Forrester, Buford, Sr.

152: Carl Rider, North Gwinnett, Fr.

152: Zeke Hunt, Dacula, Jr.

160: Alan Gigolaev, Peachtree Ridge, Sr.

171: Michael Douglas, Wesleyan, Sr.

171: Matt Chapman, Peachtree Ridge, Sr.

171: Nick Holbert, Collins Hill, Soph.

189: Paul Ardilla, Grayson Sr.

215: Matt Johnson, Parkview, Sr.

215: Corbin Nilson, Brookwood, Sr.

285: Matt Elakatt, Parkview, Sr.


103: Sean Thomas, Brookwood, Soph.

112: Brooks Spraetz, Wesleyan, Soph.

112: Robbie Kane, Parkview, Jr.

112: Ryan Mosley, Shiloh, Fr.

119: Zack Rindik, Wesleyan, Soph.

119: Locke Hoover, GAC, Sr.

119: Steven Epps, North Gwinnett

125: Josh Bloodworth, Peachtree Ridge, Jr.

130: Ryan Rivera, Norcross

130: Allen Willard, Collins Hill, Jr.

135: Tyler Hediger, Wesleyan, Sr.

135: Enrique Martinez, Berkmar, Jr.

140: Josh Tolman, Wesleyan, Jr.

140: Thomas Veal, South

Gwinnett, Fr.

140: Joseph Newman, Central Gwinnett, Sr.

160: Sterling Bell, Buford, Sr.

160: Phillip Bowman, Dacula, Soph.

189: Cole Watson, Wesleyan, Sr.

189: Mac Bennett, Collins Hill, Soph.

215: Andrew Uria, Wesleyan, Sr.

285: Thomas Delain, Collins Hill, Jr.

285: Mike Dixon, Grayson, Sr.

285: Austin Hagan, Mill Creek, Soph.

285: Phillip Pickens,

Meadowcreek, Sr.


Freddie Lambert, Berkmar

Ryan Gasaway, Mill Creek

Kyle Smith, Brookwood

Valetina Udekigbo, Meadowcreek

Cameron Hutchins, Buford

Michael Fu, Norcross

Nick Diaz, Central Gwinnett

Dalton Daniel, North Gwinnett

Nick Holbert, Collins Hill

Frank Gaddy, Parkview

Alex Sweatt, Dacula

Shaun Scruggs, Peachtree Ridge

Darly Singleton, Shiloh

Drew Schoepf, GAC

Tucker Kreis, Grayson

Michael Douglas, Wesleyan

Evan Greer, Duluth