Schools honored by state
County system adds to 'distinguished' list

LAWRENCEVILLE - The state Department of Education has recognized 22 Gwinnett County schools as "Georgia Title I Distinguished Schools," an increase from the 17 honored last year, the school district announced Monday.

Title I schools receive additional federal funding to better serve their students, a high percentage of whom are considered economically disadvantaged. Each year, the Georgia Department of Education recognizes Title I schools that excel in meeting achievement standards, giving the "Distinguished Schools" honor to those that make adequate yearly progress under the No Child Left Behind Act for three or more consecutive years.

"Gwinnett County Public Schools has an exemplary Title I program as evidenced by the number of schools that continue to earn recognition as 'distinguished' schools," said Steve Flynt, the school system's chief academic officer. "Our teachers and staff work diligently to ensure that all children have access to quality instruction and resources that enable them to meet and exceed state academic standards. They also are committed to involving parents in student success as evidenced by the parent centers and parent outreach initiatives. This recognition is one that our schools, as well as our entire community, can celebrate."

Annistown, Hopkins and Kanoheda elementary schools have made AYP for seven consecutive years.

Bethesda, Britt, Cedar Hill, Lilburn, Nesbit, Norcross, Norton, Partee and Peachtree elementary schools have made AYP for six consecutive years.

Alford, Corley, Meadowcreek, Minor and Rockbridge elementary schools have made AYP for five consecutive years.

Beaver Ridge, Chesney, Centerville and Winn Holt elementary schools have made AYP for four consecutive years.

Simonton Elementary has made AYP for three consecutive years.