Brookwood named Georgia School of Excellence

SNELLVILLE - Brookwood High School is one of 26 schools in the state named a 2008 Georgia School of Excellence, State Superintendent of Schools Kathy Cox announced Friday.

The Georgia Schools of Excellence awards are granted in two categories: top 10 percent, measured by assessments in reading and mathematics, and greatest gains, demonstrated by making the greatest continuous gains in student achievement for the past three years in reading and mathematics.

Brookwood High earned recognition for being in the top 10 percent of schools in Georgia as measured by assessments in reading and mathematics, according to a news release.

"As I was told the news, I immediately felt a tremendous sense of pride for our students and staff," Brookwood High principal Debbie Dees said. "We work so very hard every day, and it's an honor to receive such a prestigious award that recognizes our commitment to the students and community of the Brookwood cluster. The fact that we were only one of four high schools in the state honored is incredible."

Dees attributed the success to dedicated staff members and a community that values public education and supports its schools. She also noted the teamwork between the cluster schools in preparing students for the next grade level and for the future.

The other schools honored in the top 10 percent category were Huddleston Elementary and McIntonish High in Fayette County; Browns Mill Elementary and Kittredge Elementary in DeKalb County; Timber Ridge Elementary, Dickerson Middle, Lassiter High and Harrison High in Cobb County; Sharon Elementary and South Forsyth High in Forsyth County; Quail Run Elementary in Houston County; Davidson Magnet School in Richmond County; and Savannah Arts Academy in Chatham County.

Schools honored for making the greatest gains were Mamie Lou Gross Elementary in Camden County, Northgate High in Coweta County, Double Churches Elementary in Muscogee County, Druid Hills High in DeKalb County, Manning Oaks Elementary in Fulton County, Loganville Elementary in Walton County, Eastside High in Newton County, Centerville Elementary in Houston County, Otwell Middle in Forsyth County, East Jackson Elementary in Jackson County, Kemp Elementary in Cobb County and Trion High in Trion city.

"These schools are getting great results from all students in many different areas," Cox said in a news release. "The teachers, students and administrators at these schools truly represent excellence."

The Georgia Schools of Excellence will be honored Jan. 23 at a banquet at the Georgia International Conference Center in College Park.