Cone, Hawkins named 8-AAAAA's top players

Four players shared the top two awards on the All-Region 8-AAAAA baseball team, which was released Wednesday by the region's coaches.

Parkview's Zach Cone and Brookwood's Chase Hawkins were named players of the year, while the pitcher of the year award was shared by the Broncos' Alex Beebe and Sean Handlan of South Gwinnett.

The first-team position players were South's Kenny Sanderson, Lance Whatley and Brett Teschner, Parkview's Brandon Jacobs and Matt Foster, Shiloh's Eddie Mathis and Brookwood's Seth Adkins, Ronnie Freeman and Jordan Erisman.

Parkview's Bronson Gagner and Cliff Carter, Central Gwinnett's Jeff Shields and South's Nick Blount were the first-team pitchers. The second-team pitchers were Josh Carr of Shiloh, Zack Olson of Parkview and Matt Adams of Brookwood.

The second-team position players were Grayson's Dylan Swords and Scott King, Brookwood's Ryan Lewis, Central's Jeff Shields, Danny Sekerak and Phillip Bates, Parkview's Beau Esmonde and Berkmar's Kareem Hayes.

Locals get 8-AAAA tennis honors

Dacula's Mariel Herrera and Winder-Barrow's Nick Tippens earned first-team honors in singles, highlighting the local selections to the All-Region 8-AAAA tennis teams.

Herrera was joined on the first team by teammates Holly Knight and Stephanie Weeden, who made it as a doubles team. Dacula's Caitlin Hosford and the doubles team of Abby Crowe and Paige Carver made second team, while the two Winder-Barrow doubles teams - Zelda Speight/Evan Adams and Jessie Speight/Quinn Edgar - received honorable mention honors.

In boys, Dacula's Brandon Tucker and Zach Nelson made the first team in doubles and teammate Kevin Ramberg was an honorable mention pick in singles. The second team featured Dacula's Anwar Ferdinand, the Falcons' Ryan Meyer and Justin Rush in doubles and Winder-Barrow's Zach Vining as honorable mention.