Youth roundup: Algard, Stepp take top awards at Sportsmanship banquet

Tommy Algard and Donna Stepp received the top honors at the Sportsmanship in Gwinnett banquet on March 5.

Algard, from the Duluth Youth Athletic Association, was named the year's Top Youth Sportsman in Gwinnett. Stepp, from the Mountain Park Athletic Association, was named the Top Adult Sportsman in Gwinnett.

The Gwinnett Youth Sportsmanship Team includes Hannah Adams (Mill Creek Athletic Association), Cole Carter (North Gwinnett Baseball/Softball Association), William Dalrymple (Dacula Athletic Association), Jason Farrow (Shiloh Athletic Association), Eric Fletcher (Norcross Soccer Association), Joshua Holston (Mustang Athletics), Jordan McDaniel (South Gwinnett Athletic Association), Jordan Moody (Mountain Park Athletic Association), Cole Redman (Dacula Soccer Club), John Topoleski (Collins Hill Athletic Association) and Stanton Truitt (Meadowcreek/Greater Lilburn Athletic Association).

The Gwinnett Adult Sportsmanship Team includes Terence Dickerson (Mustang Athletics), Allen Dyer (Grayson Athletic Association), Jeff Eckard (Duluth Youth Athletic Association), Jeff Farrow (Shiloh Athletic Association), Jim Guthrie (Lawrenceville Youth Athletic Association), Fred Gutierrez (Brookwood Football Association), Tanya McDaniel (South Gwinnett Athletic Association), Charlie Sciara (Mill Creek Athletic Association), Stan Truitt (Lilburn/Meadowcreek Football/Greater Lilburn Athletic Association), Pancho Ugarte (Atlanta Fire United Soccer Association) and John Young (Dacula Soccer Club).


Young named top coach by GYSA

Dale Young was awarded the Coach of the Year for 2008 by the Georgia Youth Soccer Association for select women's soccer.

The honor goes to the best select soccer coach in the women's division for the state of Georgia, which includes approximately 350 teams.

This is the second time Young has received the honor. He was also named GYSA Coach of the Year in 1998. He is also nominated for the Southeast Region Coach of the Year.

Young coaches the Bluesprings College Experience U16 girls team.

AFU wins Cobb Classic

The Atlanta Fire United Soccer Club U13 Gold Girls won the Cobb Classic U13 Premier Division.

The team, which is based out of Duluth, went through the tournament undefeated with every game a shutout.

Team members are Kate Boone, Taylor Burns, Madison Chilton, Bianca Clark, Olivia Hall, Ashlyn Hogg, Tanner Kaplan, Rachel Leake, Jordan Lowery, McKenna Moe, Amelia Nowicki, Adrieanna Ramos, Clara Stegall, Jessica Ursprung and Soraya Wright. The team is coached by Bill Moe.

Norcross Fury wins division at Vulcan Cup

Five teams from Gwinnett County were finalists at the Red Diamond Vulcan Cup in Birmingham on March 8-9.

The Norcross Fury Gold won the 14-year-old girls division when they defeated AFU Gold of Suwanee 2-1.

GSA Phoenix White and the GSA Phoenix Red were finalists in the 13-year-old girls division. AFU Elite of Sugar Hill was a finalist in the 15-year-old girls division.


WarHawks win tourney

The Lawrenceville WarHawks, a 14U travel baseball team, won the 2008 County Seat Kickoff Classic at Rhodes Jordan Park.

The WarHawks were 3-1 at the tournament to claim the title.

Team members are Brandon Griffin, Jordan Hillyer, Quinn Grogan, Austin Meyer, Holt Davis, Evan Griffith, Max Rosenbaum, James Holder, Ryan Russell, Jake Shirley, Blake Adams and Kyle York. The team is coached by Ron Holder, Robert Griffith and Mark Russell.

Renegades win Grand Slam Shootout

The 14-and-under South Gwinnett Renegades won the 5th annual SGAA Grand Slam Shootout at Rhodes Jordan Park on March 8-9.

The Lawrenceville-based team went undefeated in AAA bracket play, defeating the TNT Titans, Wheeler Wildcats and the Mill Creek Hawks. It was the first tournament championship of the season for the defending GGBL and BPA state champions. The title earned them a berth in the 2008 Grand Slam World Series.

Members of the team are Clint Carr, Michael Gouge, Parker Graves, Austin Loyd, Zack Nolan, Lucas Sims, Steven Slaughter, Austin Smith, Patrick Smith, Reid Steckenrider, Nicholas Tompkins and Ryan Woodard.

The team is coached by Reggie Tompkins, Randy Loyd and Mike Gouge.

Eagles undefeated at Shootout

The 9-and-under Collins Hill Eagles won the South Gwinnett Shootout on March 9.

The Eagles went 3-0 at the tournament, outscoring their opponents 25-5 and racking up 27 hits and two shutouts.

Team members are Austin Mancilla, Bradley Kallgren, Brett Jones, Jacob Bayer, James Civelli, Jon Wyatt, Mark Flores, Monty Horn, Nicholas Topoleski, Porter Richards and Ryan Jones. The team is coached by Ted Kallgren, Jim Bayer, Tony Flores and Tom Topoleski.


Seventh-grade Bronco girls win GBL title

The Brookwood seventh-grade girls won Gwinnett Basketball League championship.

The Broncos defeated Peachtree Ridge 33-21, avenging their only loss of the season to finish 18-1.

It's the second title in three seasons for the team, which has complied a 55-4 record over the last three seasons.

Team members are Taylor Allen, Abby Barnes, Cassidy Barker, Nicole Blanding, Brielle Doering, Amanda Falcon, Courtney Gardner, Shelby Hunter, Kristen Rivers and Rebecca Walker. The team is coached by Luis Falcon and Forrest Hunter.

Grayson wins championship

The Grayson Athletic Association girls basketball team won the fifth-through seventh- grade basketball championship.

Grayson finished the season with an 11-1 record.

Team members are Catharine Nienabor, Amanda Heim, Austyn Gorski, Kristin Briley, Savannah Adcock and Nykel Floyd. The team is coached by Scott Briley and Paul Gorski.

Locals win skills challenge

Several youths from the Gwinnett County area won their age group at the Jr. NBA/Jr. WNBA Skill Challenge on Feb. 16, which featured over 115 participants.

Latree Wyatt (Stone Mountain) won the boys 7/8 age group and Brandon Crockett (Stone Mountain) won the 9/10 age group. Somto Egbuna (Stone Mountain) and Quintin Walker (Stone Mountain) shared the 11/12 age group title and Michael Michel (Stone Mountain) won the 13/14 age group.

In the girls contest, Jaylyen Hill (Snellville) won the 7/8 age group, Sydney Saxton (Lithonia) won the 11/12 age group and Kaliyan Mitchell (Stone Mountain) won the 13/14 age group.

All winner will have the opportunity to compete in the region competition at Philips Arena.

- Compiled by Brandon Brigman

To be included in the youth roundup, fax information to 770-339-8081 or e-mail to brandon.brigman@gwinnettdailypost.com. This feature runs as space permits.