Youth Roundup: WarHawks capture two tournament titles

The Lawrenceville WarHawks, a 14U travel baseball team, won the Battle at Black Creek tournament in Coal Mountain and the North State Championship tournament in LaGrange.

The WarHawks were 5-0 at the Battle at Black Creek, which featured USSSA rated teams from major and AAA. They outscored their opponents 57-29.

The WarHawks were 4-1 at the North State Championship. They avenged their only loss in the championship game by beating the Florida Mustangs with a walk-off homer.

The Mustangs are ranked third in Florida by USSSA and the WarHawks are ranked fourth in Georgia.

Team members are Brandon Griffin, Jake Shirley, Jordan Hillyer, Austin Meyer, Quinn Grogan, Blake Adams, Holt Davis, Max Rosenbaum, Evan Griffith, Ryan Russell, James Holder and Kyle York.

The team is coached by Ron Holder, Robert Griffith, Mark Russell and Greg Meyer.


Hawks win Cat Attack

The Mill Creek Hawks 10U travel baseball team won the Cat Attack USSSA tournament in Ellijay on May 3, outscoring its opponents 47-2.

Team members are Gabe Davenport, Austin Elliott, Matthew Lewis, Loren Matzick, Joshua Pickens, Justin Reppert, Jacob Weisenberger, Kobe Wharton, Brett Whitford and Tyler Zak.

The team is coached by Rod Davenport, Doug Lewis, John Reppert and Keith Elliott.

Eagles claim Wood Bat Classic championship

The MGBA Eagles, a 16U travel baseball team, won the Smoltz-Grissom Wood Bat Classic Championship at Turner Field on May 27.

Team members from Gwinnett County are Ben Couch, Keegan Forness and Michael Dean.

The team is coached by Gary Staab, Zack Chastain and Brian Staab.

Renegades three-peat as GGBL champs

The 14-and-under South Gwinnett Renegades won the 2008 Greater Gwinnett Baseball League championship at Collins Hill Park.

The Renegades were 4-0 in the tournament, defeating the Lilburn Dodgers in the championship game. The defending 2007 BPA Georgia state champions went undefeated for the season with a record of 35-0-1, claiming four tournament titles and their third consecutive GGBL title. The team's three-year record was 126-13-4.

Members of the team are Clint Carr, Michael Gouge, Parker Graves, Austin Loyd, Zach Nolan, Lucas Sims, Steven Slaughter, Austin Smith, Patrick Smith, Reid Steckenrider, Nicholas Tompkins and Ryan Woodard.

The team is coached by Reggie Tompkins, Randy Loyd, Mike Gouge and Boyd Smith. Team representatives are Leanne Woodard and Wayne Sims.

Falcons capture GGBL title

The Dacula Falcons 14U AA baseball team outlasted eight other teams to capture the 2008 Greater Gwinnett Baseball League championship on June 8, defeating the North Gwinnett Bulldogs 5-3.

Team members and coaches are George Sartin, Kyle Sartin, Ben Crowder, Rocky Capobianco, James Wilkins, Kyle Mitchell, Jack Crowder, Andrew Norton, Machmud Makhmudov, Brandyn Bartlett, Matt Cole, Jacob Bowers, Cory Levin and Vince Capobianco. Cole and Bowers teamed up to pitch the championship game victory.

Lions win first GGBL championship

The Peachtree Ridge 13U travel team brought home the Lions' first GGBL championship last weekend.

After losing their opening game by only one run, the Lions won seven straight games, including a two-game sweep of the Hebron Angels in the championship series.

Team members are Connor Blanchard, Tyler Chaney, Chris Furter, Garry Gwaltney, Brian Hanberry, Kevin Kirk, Brett McCurry, Anthony Perez, Kevin Ross, Harrison Wengryn, Tyler White and batboys Stephen Kirk and Ben Wengryn.

The team is coached by Kerry Furter, Mike Chaney, Garry Gwaltney and Dave Wengryn.

Grayson battles way to GGBL crown

The 12U Grayson Rams won the Greater Gwinnett Baseball League championship on June 8. The Rams defeated North Gwinnett Red, Buford Green, Norcross and South Gwinnett to advance to the finals. They won 3-1 and 4-2 over North Gwinnett Black to win the title.

Team members and coaches are Matt Jones, Tanner Strickland, Cody Helton, Blake Berry, Scott Witt, Travis Padgett, A.J. Moore, Chris Erwin, D.J. Sieber, Max Yarbrough, Kyle VanLenten, Thomas Erwin, Robert Erwin, Bill Berry, Rick VanLenten and Jeff Strickland.

Eagles land first GGBL crown

The 10U Collins Hill Eagles defeated the Mill Creek Hawks to win the GGBL championship on June 8.

It is the first county championship for the team, which finished as the runner-up in the 2007 9U GGBL tournament.

Mill Creek won Game 1 of the series 7-6 but the Eagles bounced back to win the second game 10-7. In the final game of the series, the Eagles secured the championship with a 3-1 victory. The Eagles finished their GGBL season with a record of 22-5.

Team members are Riley King, Jeremy Lewis, Cole Zabowski, Reed Egan, Alec Cargin, Spencer Douches, Casey Marksberry, Trevor Powers, Chandler Boles, Ian Jenkins, Caleb Watson and Crae LeBlanc. The team is coached by Rich Zabowski.


Wolves take second at state

The Buford boys 14U YBOA basketball team placed second at the state tournament on June 1 to qualify for the national tournament.

The team will compete in the national tournament in Central Florida from June 29 to July 5.

Team members are Tyler Burge, Kent Bailey, Garrett Roebuck, Travarius Jackson, Chris Pass, Jaylen Shermon, Coby Durden, Casey Osbourne, Jordan Platt and Tyler McBroome.

The team is coached by Brian Elinburg, Ken Burge and Rocky Platt.

Vipers finish another great season

The Georgia Vipers completed another impressive regular season by posting a 39-3 record.

The Vipers won six of the seven tournaments they competed in this season. They won their third straight AAU state championship and the YBOA state championship, finished as runner-up at the AAU Super Regional and won the Great Smokey Mountain Championship.

The team's three-year record is now 120-28. The Vipers will play in the national championship tournament in Disney World on July 6-11. Last year they finished fourth in the nation.

Team members are Tia Williams, D'Atra Sawyer, Katie Lynn, Chanee Carson, Stephanie Owens, Lauren Anderson, Jordan Gustavel, Moneshia Simmons, Olivia Towers-Solis and Jocelyn Danley.

The team is coached by Jack Lynn and Victor Anderson.


Fury capture first state championship

The Norcross Fury U17 boys soccer team won the 2008 Georgia Youth Soccer Association's State Cup in Columbus on June 8.

The team won its semifinal game 4-0 over rival GSA and battled Alianza in the championship game for a hard-fought 2-1 win.

This is the first boys state championship for the Norcross Soccer Association. It was also the second championship for the team in two weeks as it traveled to Maryland for the Potomac Memorial Tournament, coming away with the first-place medal.

The team will participate in the southern regional tournament in Raleigh on June 20.

Team members are: Eric Wierzbinski, Will Whorton, Bayan Vojdani, Chris Thomas, Matthew Starks, Adam Schraudenbach, Alex Reyes, Michael Recchia, Enrique Miranda, Richard Klemm, Zack Johnson, Jake Hamilton, Tyler Gutzman, Saudin Garanovic, Eric Fletcher, Alex Crooks and Caulin Collier. The team is coached by Tony Annan.

Atlanta Fire U16 wins state

The Duluth-based Atlanta Fire United U16 Elite girls soccer team won the 2008 Georgia Youth Soccer Association's State Cup in Columbus on June 9. The team was seeded third but beat out higher seeds for its first state title.

Team members are: Mary Mancin, Nikki Atkinson, Morganne Grimes, Taylor Green, Cristina Guzzetti, Anna Douglas, Danielle Au, Lyndsey Gaffney, Madeline Barker, Duggan Hahn, Sammi Badgio, Shannon Fitzpatrick, Alexis Scott, Haley Carroll, Carolyn DiNapoli, Rebecca Keisler and Kristyn Thacker. The team is coached by Scott Donohue of Lawrenceville.

To be included in the youth roundup, fax information to 770-339-8081 or e-mail to brandon.brigman@gwinnettdailypost.com. This feature runs as space permits.