Lilburn swears in mayor, new council members

LILBURN - Diana Preston, a Lilburn City councilwoman for 18 years, was sworn in here Monday night as the first fem ale mayor in the city's 98-year history.

"I'm real excited tonight," Preston said following the standing-room-only council meeting. "I'm going to work really hard for an improved city of Lilburn."

Preston, who defeated Councilman Ken Swaim in last November's city election, is a retired Gwinnett County school administrator.

Also sworn in during the meeting were Councilmen Johnny D. Crist and S. Scott Batterton, along with members of city boards and commissions.

Councilman Eddie Price was named by Preston as mayor pro-tem, while David Owen and Elmer Nash were approved to serve on the Lilburn Downtown Development Authority.

In other business, the Council:

· Authorized the staff to work with Gwinnett County to implement the county's speed hump program in the city. Petitions for this program must have 70 percent of neighbors approving the speed humps.

· Approved a resolution for city investments in the state treasury pool in order to implement a less expensive way to move funds.

· Authorized the architectural construction document preparation and solicitation of construction bids for city police and administrative office renovations.

· Voted to execute an agreement between the city and any future sworn police officers participating in the Officer Next Door Program.

· Approved an alcoholic beverage license to the New China Buffet, 375 Rockbridge Road, for the sale of beer with Sunday sales.