Some Gwinnett Newspaper History

1858 —

The Lawrenceville News Herald begins publication in Gwinnett County

1964 — Robert D. Fowler, previously editor of the Marietta

Daily Journal buys the News Herald and two other Gwinnett weeklies: The

Buford Advertiser and the News of Gwinnett.

1965 — Fowler combines the three weeklies into one daily paper,

The Gwinnett Daily News.

1970 — Bruce Still, advertising director of the Daily News,

leaves to start his own weekly paper, The Lawrenceville Home Weekly.

1987 — The Gwinnett Daily News, recognized as one of the premier

small dailies in the country, is offered for sale by the Fowler family.

1987 — The Daily News is sold to the New York Times Company

and is staffed up for expansion.

1988 — The Daily News is expanded with distribution and news

coverage into Fulton, Dekalb and Cobb Counties.

1990 — In January, The Daily News relocates from its Born

Street in Lawrenceville to a new multi-million dollar facility off I-85

near Gwinnett Place in Duluth.

1992 — In September, The Daily News is shut down by the New

York Times and the assets are sold to the Atlanta Journal-Constitution.

1992 — In October, The Gwinnett Home Weekly makes an expansion,

changes its name to the Gwinnett Post-Tribune, and begins publishing twice


1994 — The Post-Tribune moves to tri-weekly publication in


1995 — In January, The Post-Tribune is acquired Gray Communications

Systems, headquartered in Albany, GA.

1995 — In September, the paper is renamed The Gwinnett Daily

Post, and moves to Tuesday through Saturday publication.

1997 — In May, the paper adds a Sunday edition, and begins

expanded distribution through an alliance with a cable provider. Circulation

rises to 48,000.

1998 — In March, a second cable alliance is formed, moving

the paper’s circulation to over 63,000, and filling in the distribution

pattern for most of northeast Gwinnett County and portions of Barrow and

Hall Counties.

2005 — On December 30, Gray Television

Inc.’s board of directors approved a spinoff of its newspaper publishing

and wireless business, giving the paper a new owner, Triple Crown Media

in Lexington, Ky.


April, 1970-December 1994 — Bruce


January, 1995-May, 1995 — David Still

May, 1995-December, 1995 — Joe Cunningham

February, 1996- February, 1999 — Rick Rae

February, 1999- March 2001 — Leo Pieri

March, 2001-September, 2004 — Tom Stultz

September, 2004-September, 2005 — Bob McCray

October 2005-Present — J.K. Murphy