Broncos' Miles, Wolves' Hunter lead GACA honors

Brookwood running back Kenny Miles and Buford lineman Omar Hunter led a group of local players honored on the Georgia Athletic Coaches Association's Coaches Choice All-State Teams.

Miles, who signed with South Carolina, was named the Class AAAAA Offensive Player of the Year after rushing for 2,544 yards and 25 touchdowns as a senior. His rushing total was the third-most in county history.

Hunter, a Florida signee, was selected as the Class AA Defensive Player of the Year after helping the Wolves to the AA state championship. He had 110 tackles and 39 quarterback pressures last season.

Joining Miles on the AAAAA team were: Brookwood's A.J. Mackey, Peachtree Ridge's Edixson Pino, Norcross' Brice Butler, Dion Dubose and Devonta Bolton and North Gwinnett's Eric Eberhardt and Marquese Quiles.

In AA, the local all-state selections were Buford's Twoey Hosch, J.J. Miller, Melvin Harris, T.J. Pridemore and Demetris Murray and Greater Atlanta Christian's Christian Robinson.

The Coaches Choice teams are selected by a panel of coaches that features one coach from each region. The region representative is the coach whose team won the 2007 region title.