More than 100 teachers nominated as their school's best

LAWRENCEVILLE - More than 100 Gwinnett educators have been chosen by their colleagues as their school's top teacher.

The 105 Gwinnett County Public Schools honorees will be considered for the systemwide honor of 2007-08 Teacher of the Year.

The school district will choose 20 semifinalists in early October, and six finalists will be named in mid-October. The announcement of this year's winner will be made Nov. 1 during the annual Teacher of the Year banquet.

The new schools - Lovin, Mulberry and Patrick elementary schools and the Gwinnett School of Mathematics, Science and Technology - as well as the Buchanan High School of Technology and Hooper Renwick School did not select a Teacher of the Year.

The 2007-08 local school Teachers of the Year are as follows:

Alcova Elementary, Beth Peterson, Kindergarten

J.A. Alford Elementary, Jeri Jones, Health

Annistown Elementary, Stacy Childs, Second grade

Arcado Elementary, Lynne Donohoe, Third grade

Beaver Ridge Elementary, Martha Vazquez, Fifth grade

Benefield Elementary, Elise Moore, Second grade

Berkeley Lake Elementary, Debbie Kittinger, Fifth grade

Berkmar High, Jobie Ray Johnson, Language arts

Berkmar Middle, Wendy Baker, Seventh-grade language arts

Bethesda Elementary, Nicole Bartig, First grade

W.C. Britt Elementary, Trisha Voiles, Kindergarten

Brookwood Elementary, Ginny Arndt, Fifth grade

Brookwood High, Libby Atwell, Language arts

T. Carl Buice School, Heather Cannon, Prekindergarten special education

Camp Creek Elementary, Julie McClellan, Fifth grade

Cedar Hill Elementary, Adrienne Thompson, Fifth grade

Centerville Elementary, Julie Nelson, Mathematics coach

Central Gwinnett High, Lisa Knutson, Science

Chattahoochee Elementary, Valerie Jewell, First-grade

Chesney Elementary, Sonja Fox, Gifted education

Collins Hill High, Rob Hutcheson, 11th-grade language arts

W.J. Cooper Elementary, James Meadows, Third grade

Corley Elementary, Katherine Eisner, Special education/resource

Craig Elementary, Lydia Patrick, Local school technology coordinator

Creekland Middle, Vanessa L. Platto, Seventh-grade life science

Alton C. Crews Middle, Betty McClam, Seventh-grade mathematics and social studies

Dacula Elementary, Laurie Digby, Fifth-grade reading and writing

Dacula High, Leigh Ann Landress, Mathematics

Dacula Middle, Nancy Glenn, Sixth-grade social studies

Duluth High, Nicole Smith, 11th-grade language arts

Duluth Middle, Cathy Karlick, Eighth-grade ESOL

Duncan Creek Elementary, Carla Evans, Mathematics specialist

J.G. Dyer Elementary, Jaime Fooks, Fifth grade

Five Forks Middle, Martha Brick, Eighth-grade science

Fort Daniel Elementary, Liz Thomas, Fourth grade

Freeman's Mill Elementary, Patricia "Tricia" Merry, First-grade

GIVE Center East, Mary Bryan Giroux, Art

GIVE Center West, Joseph Lembo, Life skills

Grayson Elementary, Lynn Scavone, First grade

Grayson High, Greg Field, 11th- through 12th-grade AP Calculus

Gwin Oaks Elementary, Susan Wadkins, Special education/autism resource

Harbins Elementary, Cynthia R. Brooks, Media specialist

Harmony Elementary, Edward Eugene Ziegler, Third grade

B.B. Harris Elementary, Jennifer Holder, Fifth grade

R.D. Head Elementary, Debra Ferguson, Third grade

G.H. Hopkins Elementary, Vernay Gilliard, Special education/resource

Richard Hull Middle, Patricia L. Caldwell, Eighth-grade gifted physical science

Ivy Creek Elementary, Tonda Reynolds, Third grade

Jackson Elementary, Nozomi Wade, Fourth grade

Glenn C. Jones Middle, Doug Callahan, Seventh-grade gifted mathematics

Kanoheda Elementary, Dana Scott, Gifted education

Knight Elementary, Katherine B. Harrison, First grade

Lanier Middle, Jovela Eaton, Science and math cross categories

Lawrenceville Elementary, Ebony Jones, Second grade

Level Creek Elementary, Adam Heidenreich, Music

Lilburn Elementary, Lisa Campbell, Media specialist

Lilburn Middle, Lissette McRea, Sixth-grade language arts

J.C. Magill Elementary, Kristie Michalowski, Media specialist

Dr. M.H. Mason Jr. Elementary, Donna Malcom, Third grade

Maxwell High School of Technology, Nancy Knight, Health care science technology

J.P. McConnell Middle, Angela Thurman, Sixth-grade mathematics

McKendree Elementary, Mandy Collins, Gifted education

Meadowcreek Elementary, Beth French, First-grade reading

Meadowcreek High, Stephen Beall, 11th-grade physics

Mill Creek High, Rhonda Zambo, Special education/science/biology

Rebecca Minor Elementary, Daphne Carroll, Second grade

Monarch School, Christy Duke, Severe and profound intellectural disabilities

Mountain Park Elementary, Brenda Jones, Third grade

Nesbit Elementary, Leilani Pitolo, Reading specialist

Norcross Elementary, Debra Lynn May, Media Specialist

Norcross High, Casey Weeks, Language arts

North Gwinnett High, Heather Carr, AP world history/gifted directed studies

R.L. Norton Elementary, Patricia Reynolds, Third grade

Oakland Meadow School, Lynnette Swanson, Adapted PE/Special Olympics coordinator

Frank N. Osborne Middle, Joseph Nunn, Eighth-grade physical science

Parkview High, Leigh Z. Wach, Ninth-grade college prep biology

Parsons Elementary, David Cline, Fifth grade

Henry Partee Elementary, Teresa Hearn, First grade

Peachtree Elementary, Barbara Anest, Kindergarten

Peachtree Ridge High, Jim Veal, 11th-grade AP language arts

Pharr Elementary, Kimberly Layton, Special education/speech and language

Phoenix High, Pasha Souvorin, Digital media production and design

Pinckneyville Middle, Andrea Clayberg, Eighth-grade language arts

Louise Radloff Middle, Danyel Dollard, Sixth-grade special education

J.E. Richards Middle, Alice Schublele, Special education/learning disabilities

Riverside Elementary, Judy Stephenson, Literacy coach

Rock Springs Elementary, Patricia A. Beers, Speech/language

Rockbridge Elementary, Tonja Jackson, Second-grade

Shiloh Elementary, Mary Ellen Alexander, Second-grade

Shiloh High, Pheletta White-Kayea, Economics/political systems

Shiloh Middle, Kathy Traylor, Gifted mathematics

Simonton Elementary, Ladonna Russell, Fourth grade

Simpson Elementary, Rhea Oberholtzer, Fourth grade

Snellville Middle, Mary Hastings, Special education/specific learning disabilities

South Gwinnett High, Tracy Rainwater, Web design, networking and digital media

Susan Stripling Elementary, Bonnie Bishop, Special education/specific learning disabilities

Sugar Hill Elementary, Diane Montgomery, Fifth grade

Summerour Middle, Shelby Oates, Sixth-grade language arts

Suwanee Elementary, Rose Marie Aguirre, Reading specialist/literacy

Sweetwater Middle, James Martinez, Eighth-grade language arts

Sycamore Elementary, Emily Heck, Mathematics specialist

K.E. Taylor Elementary, Tina Gay, Fifth-grade gifted education

Trickum Middle, Debra Moody, Eighth-grade gifted language arts

Walnut Grove Elementary, Tonya Capelle, Second grade

Margaret Winn Holt Elementary, Mitzi Ethridge, Gifted language arts