Norman Cole Hairston of Snellville recently graduated from Huntingdon College with a bachelor's degree in human performance. He was captain of the school's basketball team. Hairston, the son of Bridget and Jeff Hairston of Snellville, is a 2003 graduate of Brookwood High School.

University of Georgia student Tori Shay Moore has been selected to receive the W. Tap Bennett Scholarship. The scholarship, awarded by the University of Georgia College of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences, is for the 2007-08 academic year. Moore, a senior, is majoring in animal science with an equine emphasis. She is the daughter of Steve and Valerie Moore of Dacula.

Two local students were chosen to be recognized in the University of Georgia's Pandora Yearbook. Jennifer Bellamy of Lilburn and Mary Kathryn Green of Lawrenceville were two of 15 students to be named a 2008 Outstanding Senior Leader.

Gary Klimek of Snellville has been awarded the national Chick-fil-A Leadership Scholarship. Klimek was recognized by Chick-fil-A franchise operator James Kyle Vinci for his dedication and hard work. The scholarship supports restaurant employees' efforts in pursuing a higher education.

Trice N. Kabundi, daughter of Bamona and Mpenga Kabundi of Grayson, was selected to be a resident assistant at Lynchburg College in Lynchburg, Va. Kabundi is a junior majoring in political science. Resident assistants help to provide safe and secure residential facilities. They also plan activities, provide peer counseling and maintain community standards.

Jennifer Cox of Norcross will spend a semester at Harding University's International Program in England. Cox is a senior general studies major and is one of the 24 students in the study abroad program. The curriculum focuses on literature, art, music and theater history in London and England.

David Sulpy of Snellville has been selected to perform in the Lipscomb University Jazz Band for the 2007-08 season. The Brookwood High School graduate is studying information systems and plays alto saxophone in the ensemble.

The 12-member jazz band performs music in a variety of styles, including big band swing, hard bop, gospel, Latin and ballads. Lipscomb University is located in Nashville, Tenn.

Adam Quevado of Lawrenceville is spending this fall in San Jose, Costa Rica, through a study abroad program coordinated by a national association of Christian universities. The Greater Atlanta Christian School graduate is studying business management at Lipscomb University in Nashville, Tenn.

As part of the program, called Best Semester, Quevado will take courses in Latin American studies, advanced language and literature, international business and environmental science. The program is offered by Coalition of Christian Colleges and Universities.

Local students were among the 1,500 students who recently graduated from Mercer University in Macon.

Graduates from Mercer University's Walter F. George School of Law include: Leslie Lyon Cadle of Lilburn and Jennifer Elizabeth Richter of Norcross.

Graduates from Mercer's Georgia Baptist College of Nursing include: Martha Catherine Kelley of Buford, Kirstan Marlene Lyle of Dacula, Diane Nelson of Dacula, Megan Elizabeth Owens of Lilburn, Martha Christine Abid of Snellville, Lynn Sharpe Opdyke of Snellville, and Soomee Pak of Sugar Hill.

Graduates from the College of Continuing and Professional Studies include: Greg D. George of Dacula, Eric Maurice Brown of Lawrenceville, and Nancy Kay Rouse Bache of Norcross.

Graduates from the Tift College of Education include: Michael Thomas Griffin of Duluth, Nancy Ellen Harrison of Lilburn and Leslie D. Ford of Sugar Hill. From Lawrenceville: Angela Delores Johnson, Hanna Lee Kwon and Michele H. Conn. From Norcross: Ellen Diana Price Beverley and Joseph Wisniewski. From Snellville: Mary B. Siler and Peggy Lynn Smith.

The following students graduated from the Eugene W. Stetson School of Business and Economics: Jason B. Riggs of Sugar Hill. From Buford: Kristopher Paul Rodgers of Buford. From Dacula: Stephanie Ann Sanalila and Robert Fulton Thigpen III. From Duluth: Catherine Ann Boggs and Derrick Waters. From Lawrenceville: Eric Shawn Danley, Roberto Lujano, Travis Peyton Mayo and Kimberly Michelle Wright. From Lilburn: Nirav N. Amin, Christina T. Gray, Keisha Smith Ingram and Nirali Patel. From Norcross: Robert Kevin Branford, Robert Pierson Gerritsen, Toia M. Hardy, Melissa Ann McCants, Kurt Ryan Niemi, Anthonia Awele Okolie, Sylvia Ruxandra Seaver and Cynthia Karen Sheldon. From Snellville: Olivia C. Brock and Suzanne N. Ricks. From Suwanee: Michael Barry Dawson, Gary Paul Empric, Elizabeth Patricia LeMay, Karen Lesley Livingstone, Venkatarama Reddy Mondeddu and Donna Lee Robertson.