Norcross' Maloof gets region coaching honor

Norcross head football coach Keith Maloof was named Coach of the Year in Region 7-AAAAA in voting by his fellow coaches.

Maloof led the Blue Devils to the region title with a perfect 10-0 record in the regular season. They reached the Class AAAAA quarterfinals before losing a close game to Warner Robins.

The region also announced its All-Region teams on Friday. The players selected to the team are listed below: First-Team Offense

QB Bryce Dykes, Norcross

RB Brandon Davis, Peachtree Ridge

RB Craig Jackson, Collins Hill

WR Kurt Diel, Collins Hill

WR Darius Hanks, Norcross

WR Ryan McDaniel, North Gwinnett

TE Adam Nissley, South Forsyth

OL Carlos Balcazar, South Forsyth

OL Gerraid Fustos, Mill Creek

OL Matt Hamilton, North Gwinnett

OL Andrew Higgins, Duluth

OL T.J. Hurless, Collins Hill

OL Edixson Pino, Peachtree Ridge

KR James Lewis, Collins Hill

First-Team Defense

DL Aaron Blue, Peachtree Ridge

DL Brooks Cunningham, Norcross

DL T.J. Greenstone, Collins Hill

DL Cameron Heyward, Peachtree Ridge

LB Elliot Campbell, South Forsyth

LB Chris Knox, North Gwinnett

LB James Simien, Norcross

DB Derrick Bryant, Peachtree Ridge

DB Greg Carson, Duluth

DB Cameron Demps, North Gwinnett

DB Leonard Foster, Norcross

DB Rob Patton, South Forsyth

P/K Drew Butler, Peachtree Ridge

Second-Team Offense

QB Michael Tamburo, North Gwinnett

RB Evan Gilles, North Gwinnett

RB Matt Schlesinger, Forsyth Central

WR Brice Butler, Norcross

WR Andre Williams, Duluth

WR Michael Young, Collins Hill

TE Austin Wilson, Mill Creek

OL Blake Baur, Peachtree Ridge

OL Sean Corrigan, Forsyth Central

OL Taylor Hart, Duluth

OL Chris Tarver, Mill Creek

OL R.J. Thelen, South Forsyth

KR Tyler Maloof, Norcross

Second-Team Defense

DL Bo Adebayo, Collins Hill

DL Spenser Bettis, Forsyth Central

DL Evan Downton, South Forsyth

DL J.R. Jones, Norcross

LB Dion DuBose, Norcross

LB Josh Sneed, Collins Hill

LB Breland Trahan, Peachtree Ridge

DB Neil Dankewich, Forsyth Central

DB Phillip Davis, Peachtree Ridge

DB Webb Hansard, North Forsyth

DB Chris Wellborn, Collins Hill

K Chad Gross, North Gwinnett

P Sam Snider, Norcross

Honorable mention: WR/DB Devonta Bolton, Norcross; TE Donta Shephard, Norcross; K Chris Tanner, Norcross; LB Matt Tribble, Norcross; LB/FB Sam Adams, South Forsyth; LB Daren Benson, South Forsyth; WR/DB Zack Morre, South Forsyth; DB/RB John Schmitz, South Forsyth; LB Jeremy Dixon, Duluth; LB J.D. Farrell, Duluth; DB Tony McKinney, Duluth; OL Bo Venturi, Duluth; LB Michael Davidson, Peachtree Ridge; QB Zach Graham, Peachtree Ridge; WR Sidney Haynes, Peachtree Ridge; DL Trey Trip, Peachtree Ridge; LB Curtis Guest, Collins Hill; QB Brent McDonald, Collins Hill; FB/DB Eddie Quinones, Collins Hill; DL Brad Wood, Collins Hill; DL Matt Anderson, Forsyth Central; LB Brian Calhoun, Forsyth Central; DB Cody Majors, Forsyth Central; OL Charlie McKenzie, Forsyth Central; DB John Certusi, Mill Creek; DB Sean Cosby, Mill Creek; OL Darius Jackson, Mill Creek; WR Ed Russ, Mill Creek; OL Casey Fleming, North Forsyth; OL Andrew Garner, North Forsyth; TE Will Gleeson, North Forsyth; DE Mitchell Jones, North Forsyth; OL Clint Duggan, North Gwinnett; DL Eric Eberhardt, North Gwinnett; TE Brandon Rodd, North Gwinnett; LB Jasper Williams, North Gwinnett

- From staff reports