Sugar Hill votes in favor of tax districts

SUGAR HILL - City Council members voted Monday to support legislation that would allow Tax Allocation Districts.

A Tax Allocation District is a defined area where tax monies gathered above a certain amount for an established period of time can be used for eligible improvements.

"Whatever money is generated by the properties goes back into the properties," Pirkle said. "Many cities use it as a redevelopment tool. For example, here, property owners might want to use it to do something like to bring sewer to Peachtree Industrial Boulevard."

Board appointments

City Councilmen appointed Jeanne Ferguson and Rosemary Walsh to the planning and zoning board.

Brett Werrbach, Dawn P. Goeber, Tom Baughman, Allen Jorgenson, Nick Thompson and Duane Sudderth were appointed to the Downtown Development Authority.

Duplexes to replace mobile homes

City Councilmen voted 4-1 to rezone 2.93 acres on Highland Avenue and Sylvan Street from mobile home classification to multifamily for the purpose of construction minimum 1,500-square-foot duplex homes. Sugar Hill's Future Land Use Plan shows the area as mixed use commercial/office. Councilman Clint Thompson cast the lone opposing vote.

"We implemented a long-term plan, and we should make disciplined decisions in accordance with that plan," Thompson said.