School system launches leader academy

SUWANEE - Gwinnett County Public Schools has launched an academy designed to give current assistant principals the knowledge they would need as principals.

The Quality-Plus Leader Academy, which has been in development for two years, will provide training in curriculum and instruction, school budgets, human resources, operations, management and community relations, according to a press release from the school


The academy was created because the school system will need new principals in coming years, as 37 new schools are slated to be built by 2014 and a number of current principals plan to retire in coming years.

The curriculum for the academy was created and developed by school system leaders, and instructors are senior-level GCPS leaders and community and subject-area experts, the press release states.

"To be effective, a principal must have knowledge, skills, and talent that cannot be acquired in college courses alone, and cannot be mastered without opportunities to learn from outstanding leaders in the profession," Superintendent J. Alvin Wilbanks said in a press release.

The inaugural class of 36 assistant principals was picked from 68 applicants, said Jorge Quintana, the school system's spokesman. Applicants were required to have at least two years' experience as an assistant principal. Class members were picked based on interviews, an analysis of records of education and experience, and principals' recommendations.

The academy members will receive instruction for a year.

Participation in the academy does not guarantee a promotion to principal, Quintana said. The school system still plans on recruiting principals from outside the school system, he said.

The following assistant principals have been admitted to the inaugural class of the Quality-Plus Leader Academy.

Audrey Baptiste, J.C. Magill Elementary

Monica Batiste, G.H. Hopkins Elementary

Stephen Black, Grayson High Technical Education Program

Bob Burgess, Collins Hill High

Tarsha Chambers, Snellville Middle

Penelope Clavijo, J.C. Magill Elementary

Paula Cobb, Dr. M. H. Mason Jr. Elementary

Debra Dees, Brookwood High

Jose DeJesus, Berkmar High

Susan Downs, Lanier Middle

Mary Lou Enright, Sugar Hill Elementary

Paula Everett-Truppi, Duluth Middle

Allan Gee, J.E. Richards Middle

Deborah Harris, Meadowcreek High

Luevenia Holloway, Lilburn Middle

Dorothy Jarrett, South Gwinnett High

Doris Jones, Dacula Middle

Jason Lane, Brookwood High

Bryan Long, GIVE Center East

Kelli McCain, Grayson Elementary

Andrea Miller, Five Forks Middle

Angelique Mitchell, Rockbridge Elementary

Deb Murphy, Sycamore Elementary

Eric Parker, J. E. Richards Middle

Lesley Pendelton, Benefield Elementary

Charisse Redditt, Benefield Elementary

Marci Resnick, Richard Hull Middle

Valerie Robinett, Duluth High

Betty Ann Schoeneck, W.C. Britt Elementary

Kimberly Smith, Level Creek Elementary

Rania Sukkari, Berkeley Lake Elementary

Wandy Taylor, Lilburn Elementary

Georgia Tomlin, Peachtree Ridge High

Beryl Wagner, J.P. McConnell Middle

Jason Wester, Dacula Middle

Angela Wright, Louise Radloff Middle