Students named Presidental Scholar candidates

Seven Gwinnett County Public Schools students have been selected as 2006-07 U.S. Presidential Scholars candidates, a prestigious, highly competitive program sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education.

High school seniors who are chosen as U.S. Presidential Scholars will have the opportunity to visit the nation's capital in June during National Recognition Week.

U.S. Presidential Scholars are chosen on the basis of their accomplishments, including academic and artistic success, leadership, and school and community involvement. Candidates are identified for the academic component based on their performance on the SAT or ACT college entrance exams.

Candidates can become one of the 500 semifinalists by completing a competitive application process that includes essays, self-assessments, school reports and transcripts. Based on the applications, up to 141 final scholars are chosen.

The candidates from Gwinnett are Christine An of North Gwinnett, Bommy Kim of Peachtree Ridge, Steven Lau of Duluth, Nicole Nation of Parkview, Calley Mersmann of South Gwinnett, Stephanie Wang of Parkview and Elinor Willis of Meadowcreek.

County holds science fair

Gwinnett County Public Schools recently held its science fair, and about 30 first-place teams will advance to the state fair with hopes of continuing to the international fair.

Jimmy Lee and Aniket Shaw of Berkmar, Suman Nag of Brookwood and Joy Choi of Peachtree Ridge had the three highest scores and will compete in the International Science and Engineering Fair in May in Albuquerque.

The students advancing to the state fair are:

• Josie Le, Penny Nguyen and Jonathan Walker of Berkmar;

• Vamsi Tata, Arvind Sekar, Jay Underwood, Suman Nag, Brandon Clay and Eric Sawyer of Brookwood;

• Youn Jeoung, Gina Lee, Aekta Patel, Jung Mi Park and Andrea Kuklenvik of Collins Hill;

• Katie Kennedy, Katie Gulley, TJ Lalicki, Kale Powers, Myles Mason, Megan Baldwin, Jessica Pere, Heather Duke, Rebecka Palmer and Matthew Grindstaff of Dacula ;

• Brian Hysell and Andrew Hebert of Duluth;

• Zain Gillani, Sumi Selvaraj and My-Ngoc To of Parkview;

• Tommy King, Bethany Sumner, Sam Chun, Hong Vu, Tina Duong, Eric Wang, Joseph Kim, Robert Mar, Zach Stanton, Sarah Vakili, Lauren Connell, Charlene Lo, Archit Bhise and Caitlin Martin of Peachtree Ridge;

• Timothy Johnson, Matt Huston, Michael Hamilton, Sheola Farguharson and Alexis Wooden of South Gwinnett.

Academy to host science, engineering fair

Notre Dame Academy in Duluth will host a regional science fair on Saturday for middle school students in Gwinnett County.

In October, the school was given the hosting opportunity for the first Gwinnett County Regional Science and Engineering Fair, Junior Division. About 100 middle school students will compete.

Students will display projects in biochemistry, cellular and molecular biology, computer science, engineering, energy and transportation, physics and astronomy.

The top ten projects will advance to the state Science and Engineering Fair in March at the University of Georgia.

Duluth cheerleaders win Team of the Year award

The Duluth High School Varsity Competition Cheerleading Squad, was named the 2007 Team of the Year by the Georgia Cheerleading Coaches Association.

The team is coached by Kelly Halcomb and Lindsay Martin.

"The Duluth High CLAW Squad is completely deserving of this great honor," Halcomb said. "It's not about winning a trophy though; it's about winning the respect of their teammates, opponents and community through outstanding sportsmanship and skill."

The squad will perform March 9 at the opening of the GCCA annual meeting at Lake Lanier.

Lilburn Middle thespians inducted into international society

Fifteen Lilburn Middle students have been inducted by the International Thespian Society into the Junior Thespian Society.

The students are part of the Honors Theatre Arts program and have completed 50 hours of quality theater


The students inducted are Diego Serna, Caylen Campbell, Ashleigh Oliver, Aaron Knight, Hai Giang, Marina Mehrtens, Stephen Sandoval, Noel Roblero, Khaleef Resto, Amir Resto, Alice Vazquez, Anthony Morgan, Alex Johnson and Bryan Perez.

Heather Darenberg is the education reporter for the Gwinnett Daily Post. Good News From Schools appears in the Sunday edition of the Post.