Deep South Classic Roundup: Dacula bounces back with consolation win

By Guy Curtright

Staff Correspondent

SNELLVILLE - The Dacula boys let a win slip away in the Deep South Classic semifinals. The Falcons weren't going to allow a repeat in the third-place game.

Justin Rush scored 22 points and Brian Cole had 20 as Dacula improved to 13-1 by defeating Greater Atlanta Christian 62-49 on Saturday at South Gwinnett.

Rush was 5-for-8 on 3-pointers and 7-for-12 overall from the floor.

The 6-foot-9 Cole, who made the all-tournament team, was 9-for-12 shooting and had 11 rebounds.

"That was a reality check for us," Dacula coach Justin Grant said of Friday night's blown lead against Wesleyan. "We talked about it and got back to playing team basketball. That's what we are about."

Dacula, ranked No. 8 in Class AAAAA, broke the game open in the third quarter. Ahead 33-31 at halftime, the Falcons outscored GAC 21-6 over the next eight minutes.

Trent Kammerer had 10 points and six rebounds for Dacula to complement Rush and Cole.

Taylor Metzger scored 11 in the first quarter and finished with 16 to lead GAC (11-2). Brett Johnson added 11 points for the Spartans, ranked No. 2 in Class AA.

Trent Weiderman was GAC's representative on the all-tournament team.


Nitro (W. Va.) girls 66, Osbourn Park (Va.) 53

SNELLVILLE - Kendra Wallace scored 30 points as Nitro, W.Va., took third place in girls play at the Deep South Classic with a 66-53 victory over Osbourn Park of Manassas, Va.

Wallace, who has signed with USC-Upstate, hit four 3-pointers and was named to the all-tournament team. Dri Nazario, a freshman, scored 15 for Nitro (7-1).

All-tournament pick Melissa Collier had 18 points fro Osbourn Park, which trailed just 27-26 at halftime. Nitro outscored Osbourn Park 14-3 in the third quarter to take charge.

SideBar: Deep South Classic

17th Annual Deep South Classic All-Tournament Team


' Tanner Smith, Wesleyan

' Jeremy Olsen, Collins Hill

' Andrew Anderson, Collins Hill

' Brian Cole, Dacula

' Trent Wiedeman, GAC

' MVP - Howard Thompkins, Wesleyan


' Melissa Collier, Osbourn Park

' Kendra Wallace, Nitro

' Christie Leverette, Marietta

' Telia McCall, Marietta

' Erin Hall, Wesleyan

' MVP - Anne Marie Armstrong, Wesleyan