Swimming & Diving roundup: Gwinnett trumps Cobb for 7th year

Gwinnett County's swimmers and divers maintained their hold on the Cobb-Gwinnett Challenge trophy this past weekend, winning the event for the seventh straight season.

Gwinnett won six of the meet's seven divisions and scored 3,684.5 points, 362 ahead of Cobb's total.

"Of course we are pleased to win it again," said Duluth coach Jim Reason, who organizes the event with his brother David, a coach in Cobb. "We realize every year that we are going up against very good competition and I think the kids realize that as well. I think every coach looks forward to seeing how their kids do in an evenly matched meet and one that comes with a little bit of pressure."

The county's division winners were Brookwood in Division I, Mill Creek in Division II, Peachtree Ridge in Division III, Norcross in Division IV, Duluth in Division V and Central Gwinnett in Division VI.

"The depth of talent here in Gwinnett is umatched, top to bottom we have strong teams," Reason said.

Brookwood wins in Division I

Brookwood won Division I at the Cobb-Gwinnett Challenge with a combined score of 336. Parkview was second at 284, while Cobb's top two teams Lassiter (238) and Walton (231) were at the bottom of the four-team division.

The Broncos' boys winners included Zach Lopez in the 100 breaststroke. Lopez broke the school record in that event with a time of 58.55 seconds, which also is an automatic qualifying time for All-American honors.

Other boys winners for Brookwood were: Stephen Swan in the 200 freestyle (1:44.96) and 100 free (47.98), Danny Nguyen in the 200 individual medley (1:59.57) and the 100 butterfly (53.34) and Jacob Modrich in diving (237.80).

Brookwood's girls winners were: Allyson Sweeney (200 free, 1:57.03), Jana Mangimelli (200 IM, 2:09.60), Catherine Hanley (500 free, 5:13.73) and Meghan Faulkner (100 breast, 1:08.13). The Bronco girls' 400 free relay of Sweeney, Abby Wilhelm, Mangimelli and Faulkner had an All-American consideration time of 3:36.08.

Parkview's boys winners were Andrew Ruffing (50 free, 21.73 and 100 backstroke, 52.30) and Kyle Newhouse (500 free, 4:49.07).

Mill Creek first in Division II

Mill Creek won Division II of the Cobb-Gwinnett Challenge with 337 points and Collins Hill was second at 240.5, both finishing ahead of Cobb's Kennesaw Mountain and Pope in the four-team division.

The Hawks' Sommers Creed broke the school record in the 200 free (1:55.57) in a first-place finish, while also winning the 500 free (5:04.54). Her sister Marlie Creed won the 100 free (58.04).

Mill Creek's girls also got wins from Jordan Evans (200 IM, 2:09.67 and 100 fly, 58.08) and Stephanie Doran (50 free, 26.48). The Hawks' boys winners were Zach Tillman (200 free, 1:49.38 and 500 free, 4:53.22) and Cameron Cowgill (diving, 280.00).

Collins Hill got first-place finishes from Robert Evans in the 50 free (22.81) and 100 free (50.76), as well as Bruce Janzen in the 100 fly (54.22) and 100 back (55.44).

Duluth takes Division V win

Duluth scored 395 points to win the four-team Division V at the Cobb-Gwinnett Challenge with ease. The Wildcats won by 120 over runner-up North Cobb and also topped Shiloh and McEachern.

Duluth's boys winners were: Paul Leddon (200 IM, 2:07.95 and 100 fly, 57.99), Blake Harrington (50 free, 23.58 and 100 breast, 1:03.48) and Alan Carroll (100 back, 1:01.92).

The Wildcats' first-place finishers in girls competition were Hailey White (200 free, 1:56.37 and 500 free, 5:21.15) and Stephanie Ottimo (50 free, 27.31 and 100

free, 58.85).

Central Gwinnett tops in Division VI

Central Gwinnett (269 points) edged Marietta (256), Dacula (253) and Hillgrove (241) to win Division VI of the Cobb-Gwinnett Challenge.

Central got first-place finishes from Matt Jackson (50 free, 23.89 and 100 fly, 58.06), Patrick Brady (diving, 167.40) and Victoria Monetta (diving, 137.40).

Dacula's race winners were Adam Day (200 IM, 2:30.95), Abigail Alton (50 free, 25.13 and 100 back, 1:02.67) and Heather Babcock (100 breast, 1:21.85).

Wesleyan edges Chattahoochee

Class AA Wesleyan defeated Class AAAAA Chattahoochee this past weekend 345-272. The Wolves won the boys division 203-105, but lost 167-142 in girls competition.

Wesleyan's boys winners were: Rich McMurry (50 free, 22.50 and 100 back, 58.91), Zach Hernandez (diving, 233.25), Michael Reynolds (500 free, 5:09.40) and J.P. McLaughlin (100 breast, 1:06.28).

First-place Wolves in the girls races were: Jordan Jackson (200 IM, 2:21.37), Erika Ramsey (50 free, 26.38), Abby Nelson (diving, 216.90) and Hannah Machemehl (100 breast, 1:14.89).

- From staff reports