Two join race for Dacula council seat

LAWRENCEVILLE - Elections are set for several Gwinnett cities after qualifying periods ended Wednesday.

While voters can decide on redevelopment-related referenda in Braselton and Buford, only one person qualified per post this week.

In Loganville, only the three incumbent councilmen placed their names on the ballot this week, but voters there will also decide a redevelopment referendum as well as a liquor-by-the-drink vote.

In Dacula, two more people added their names to November ballots Wednesday. Incumbent Gene Greeson and challenger Susan Robinson joined Betty M. Hale for one council battle, while former councilman Hubert Wells challenged Tim Montgomery earlier this week.

The race for a Duluth council position became crowded Wednesday, when Marline Santiago-Cook, Arnie Garrett and Greg Whitlock qualified to take on former councilwoman Maxine Garner for Post 5. Incumbent Doris Kirouac did not seek re-election.

At the close of the qualifying period, Duluth voters will also have a choice between Nancy Harris and James Johnson for mayor, although Councilman Doug Mundrick is not opposed.

In Suwanee, Tom McConnell qualified for the mayor's race. He'll face Dave Williams, as incumbent Nick Masino has decided not to seek re-election. Rick Welsch filed paperwork to run against Jimmy Burnette for a council post, but incumbent Jeannine Rispin was not opposed.

A last-day qualifying for Marcus J. Hinton will mean that Grayson will host an election in November. Hinton qualified to run against incumbent Suzanne Hawkins. Mayor Jim Hinkle and Councilwoman Allison Wilkerson-Rooks are unopposed.

Qualifying will continue through today in Berkeley Lake and through Friday in Auburn, Lawrenceville, Lilburn, Norcross, Snellville and Sugar Hill.

For those posts Wednesday, William Ackworth qualified to run for mayor of Auburn and Ken Swaim placed his hat in the ring for Lilburn mayor.

SideBar: Qualifying

The following people qualified Wednesday.


' Mayor: William Ackworth


' Council: Gene Greeson (i), Susan Robinson


' Council Post 5: Marline Santiago-Cook, Arnie Garrett, Greg Whitlock


' Council Post 4: Marcus J. Hinton


' Mayor: Ken Swaim


' Council: Austin Jones (i)


' Mayor: Tom McConnell

' Council Post 1: Rick Welsch