Qualifying period ends for local offices

LAWRENCEVILLE - Last week's qualifying period featured political comebacks for several of Gwinnett's former council members and mayors.

All four cities that held the qualifying period will hold an election on Nov. 7, although Grayson incumbent Tammy Shumate and newcomer David Schroder were uncontested.

That southern Gwinnett city will hold a special election for a referendum on liquor-by-the-drink.

Lawrenceville and Loganville elections will decides the cities' mayors, after former mayor Mike Jones qualified to take on incumbent Tim Barron in Loganville.

In Lawrenceville, Mayor Bobby Sikes decided against seeking another term so he could concentrate on his recovery from cancer.

Three men will battle to replace him - Councilman David Rodriguez, George Abney and Rex Millsaps.

Former councilman Mike Crow has qualified to take Rodriguez's place, but he is challenged by planning board member Mary L. Thompson. Incumbent Judy Jordan-Johnson does not face a challenger in November.

Three Loganville councilmen - Chuck Bagley, Mark Kiddoo and Ray Nunley - face challenges from Janice Tribble and former councilwoman Sara Bacon.

And in Norcross, all three council posts have challenges.

Incumbent Michael Lovelady will face Jeff Allen and former councilman Barry Payne, and incumbent David McLeroy will square off against Roger DeLeon.

The race to replace Bruce Smith includes two former councilmembers, Joshua Bare and Julie Barks, as well as Keith Schewbert.




Tammy Shumate (i)


David Schroder



George Abney Jr.

Rex Millsaps

David Rodriguez



Mary L. Thompson

Mike Crow


Judy Jordan-Johnson (i)



Tim Barron (i)

Mike Jones

•Council (top three vote-getters)

Chuck Bagley (i)

Sara Bacon

Mark Kiddoo (i)

Ray Nunley (i)

Janice Tribble




Michael Lovelady (i)

Jeff Allen

Barry Payne


David McLeroy (i)

Roger DeLeon


Joshua Bare

Julie Barks

Keith Schewbert