Collins Hill dominates All-Region team

After rolling through the Region 7-AAAAA schedule with a perfect record, the Collins Hill baseball team was well represented on the coaches' 2006 All-Region baseball team.

Kevin Morrison was named Player of the Year, Justin Earls was named co-Pitcher of the Year (along with Chattahoochee's Jeff Lorick) and Paul Pierce was named Coach of the Year.

Other Collins Hill honorees were first-teamers Nick Sperounis and Daniel Warzon, second-teamer Justice French and honorable-mention selections Ryan Hansen and Tyler Oliver.

Local players filling out the first team were Brad Hall (Duluth), Denver Stovall (Mill Creek), Shannon Wilkerson (Dacula), Bryant Jones (Dacula), Richard Pirkle (Norcross), Jesse Richeson (Duluth) and Tyler Walton (Mill Creek).

Second-teamers were: Ty Goodbar (North Gwinnett), Matt McNeese (Mill Creek), Matt Birkbeck (Peachtree Ridge), Darius Hanks (Norcross), Tony Baker (Dacula), Cody Davison (Mill Creek), Mike Peters (North) and Lars Mitchell (North).

Honorable-mention selections were: Scott Welborn (Duluth), Andrew Riedel (Duluth), Kirklan Moore (Mill Creek), Jake Rowe (Dacula), Blair Frost (Dacula), Kurtis Robinson (Norcross), Travis Echols (North), Justin Rahm (North), Jim Moreland (North), Blake Perry (Peachtree Ridge), Chad Turner (Peachtree Ridge), Jarod Slaven (North), Dan Pugh (Norcross), Jonathan McBryar (Dacula), Cody Clickner (Mill Creek), David Randall (Peachtree Ridge), Dillon Waters (Peachtree Ridge).

- From staff reports