Miss Basketball: Moore given top honor by GSWA; Meeks also honored as AAAAA's top boys player

The postseason honors keep rolling in for Maya Moore.

Collins Hill's junior phenom was named Miss Basketball and the Class AAAAA Player of the Year by the Georgia Sports Writers Association, which released its 2005-2006 All-State teams on Saturday. Southwest Atlanta Christian's Jarvaris Crittenton was selected as Mr.


Moore averaged 23.2 points, 11.3 rebounds, 5.4 steals and 4.6 assists as the Eagles won their second straight state title with a 31-1 record. The championship was the program's fourth in six seasons.

Norcross' Jodie Meeks, who also led his team to the AAAAA title, was voted the Player of the Year in that classification. The senior, a Kentucky signee, averaged 23.7 points, 6.1 rebounds and 4.2 assists. He was at his best in the state tournament, averaging 28.0 points, including 31.0 in the semifinals and finals.

Gwinnett also had three Coach of the Year winners - Collins Hill's Tracey Tipton in AAAAA girls, Norcross' Eddie Martin in AAAAA boys and Wesleyan's Jan Azar in AA girls. All three coaches led their teams to state titles.

Meeks was joined on the AAAAA All-State team by teammate Gani Lawal and Meadowcreek's Chris Allen, both juniors. Moore and teammate Shantell Black made the first team in AAAAA girls along with South Gwinnett's Gia Lockett. In AA, the local first-team selections were Wesleyan's Howard Thompkins and Carolyn Whitney, and Greater Atlanta Christian's D'Nay Daniels.

Other locals on the honorable mention All-State lists were: Peachtree Ridge's Cameron Heyward, South's Alex Winchell, Shiloh's Courtney Strauthers, Mill Creek's Shelbie Pool, Brookwood's Chioma Okoli, Collins Hill's Brittany Cade, Norcross' D'Andra Moss, Buford's Cam Sherman and Wesleyan's Le Le LeSeur and Sarah Delk.