Top spellers advance to the countywide bee

LAWRENCEVILLE - Thirty-one students will be advancing to the countywide spelling bee after ranking in their district spelling bees. The five district bees were held Thursday night at Central Gwinnett, Mill Creek, Norcross, Brookwood and Meadowcreek high schools.

The Gwinnett County Bee will be held at 10 a.m. Jan. 28 at Mill Creek High School. The top 11 students from that competition will go on to the state's District 3 spelling bee at Collins Hill High School Feb. 25. The top spellers from each district:

District 1

1. Akshaya Suresh, Crews Middle

2. Lauren Dalton, Grayson Elementary

3. Emma Walker, Harbins Elementary

4. Augustine Peets, Simonton Elementary

5. Naveed Khan, Kanoheda Elementary

6. Leah Young, Dacula Middle

District 2

1. Jennifer Rutledge, Creekland Middle

2. Kristen Bussey, Osborne Middle

3. Tucker Fleming, Osborne Middle

4. Will Cartwright, Sugar Hill Elementary

5. Timothy Park, Parsons Elementary

6. Avery Arndt, Harmony Elementary

7. Sally Han, Riverside Elementary

District 3

1. Jeffrey Kim, Mason Elementary

2. Brittany Harris, Harris Elementary

3. Peter Luu, Summerour Middle

4. Sujith Cherukumilli, Chattahoochee Elementary

5. Michael Santos, Stripling Elementary

6. Vishnu Natarajan, Berkeley Lake Elementary

District 4

1. Jenny Truong, Gwin Oaks Elementary

2. Kayla Arnold, Snellville Middle

3. D.J. Spotten, Five Forks Middle

4. Jahceem Xavier, Partee Elementary

5. Chas Reid, Britt Elementary

6. Paige Miller, Brookwood Elementary

District 5

1. Zain Sharif, Trickum Middle

2. John Lee, Radloff Middle

3. Eduordo Santacruz, Sweetwater Middle

4. Kye James, Camp Creek Elementary

5. David Paulsson, Rockbridge Elementary

6. Florencia Munilla, Berkmar Middle