Touchdown Club of Gwinnett hands out All-County honors

DULUTH - The Touchdown Club of Gwinnett held its season-ending All-County banquet on Monday night at the Gwinnett Place Marriott.

The club honored its players of the year, scholar-athletes, first- and second-team All-County choices and various other award winners. Brookwood, Norcross, Peachtree Ridge and Dacula each had two individual award winners.

Brookwood linebacker Rennie Curran was selected as Athlete of the Year and teammate Patrick Moran was the Defensive Back of the Year. Curran made 150 tackles and had 13 sacks this season while Moran had 47 tackles, two interceptions and 19 catches for 504 yards and four touchdowns on offense.

Norcross' Bryce Dykes was picked as Quarterback of the Year while the Blue Devils' James Simien was Linebacker of the Year. Dykes threw for 2,153 yards and accounted for 25 TDs and Simien made 156 tackles (25 for losses) with 10 sacks.

Brandon Davis of Peachtree Ridge was named Running Back of the Year and the Lions' Cameron Heyward was Defensive Lineman of the Year. Davis has passed the 1,000-yard rushing mark to lead his team into this Saturday's state championship game. Heyward, a two-way lineman, has 13 sacks.

Dacula's two award winners were Tight End of the Year Michael Butler and Specialist of the Year Cameron Kenney. In addition to his blocking, Butler caught eight passes for 204 yards and two TDs. Kenney scored 43 points as a kicker, had a 39.0-yard punting average and caught 33 passes for 911 yards and 10 TDs.

Also taking prestigious individual honors were Grayson's James Boatright as Offensive Lineman of the Year and North Gwinnett's Ryan McDaniel was Wide Receiver of the Year. Boatright anchored an offensive line that helped the Rams average 200 rushing yards per game and McDaniel caught 69 passes for 917 yards and 13 TDs.

Other players honored by the club are as follows:

Individual Awards

Athlete of the Year: Rennie Curran, Brookwood

Quarterback of the Year: Bryce Dykes, Norcross

Running back of the Year: Brandon Davis, Peachtree Ridge

Wide receiver of the Year: Ryan McDaniel, North Gwinnett

Tight end of the Year: Michael Butler, Dacula

Offensive lineman of the Year: James Boatright, Grayson

Linebacker of the Year: James Simien, Brookwood

Defensive back of the Year: Patrick Moran, Brookwood

Defensive lineman of the Year: Cameron Heyward, Peachtree Ridge

Specialist of the Year: Cameron Kenney, Dacula

Scholar-Athlete Award

Berkmar: Chip Stanford

Brookwood: David Kelley

Buford: Zack Skipper

Central Gwinnett: Kris Swanson

Collins Hill: Michael Young

Dacula: Adiel Hunt

Duluth: Jeremy Dixon

Grayson: Joseph Thompson

GAC: Meko McCray

Meadowcreek: Justin Thomas

Mill Creek: John Certusi

Norcross: Sam Snider

North Gwinnett: Clint Duggan

Parkview: Patrick Kenny

Peachtree Ridge: Michael Davidson

Shiloh: Aaron Rogers

South Gwinnett: Sean Christy

Wesleyan: Jo Jo Catrini

Team First Award

(given to player who puts team above himself)

Berkmar: Jeremy Maness

Brookwood: Andrew Geschke

Buford: Chase Hudson

Central Gwinnett: Logan Hunt

Collins Hill: Eddie Quinones

Dacula: Austin Chambers

Duluth: Andre Williams

Grayson: Moses Edson

GAC: William Shuford

Mill Creek: Chris Tarver

Norcross: Dee Hill

North Gwinnett: Matt Hamilton

Parkview: Jason Veal

Shiloh: Mikey Mixon

South Gwinnett: Chris Grant

Wesleyan: Billy Dugal

Cecil Morris Award

(given to players who would have been All-County but were injured)

Collins Hill: Michael Young

GAC: Caleb King

Parkview: Antonio Mohn

Peachtree Ridge: Tommy Donatell

Wesleyan: Andy Merlino

Tally Johnson Award

(given to assistant coaches of the year)

Berkmar: Frank Bendin

Brookwood: David Nelson

Buford: Chris Demaline

Central Gwinnett: Ken Aldridge

Dacula: David Machovec

Duluth: Lex Balazik

Grayson: Robert Andrews

Meadowcreek: Thomas Cox

Mill Creek: Andy Dyer

Norcross: Steve Sims

North Gwinnett: Maurice Dixon

Peachtree Ridge: Carl Cole

Shiloh: Richard Postell

South Gwinnett: Ken Burnette

Wesleyan: Brian Krehmeyer

Dave Hunter Award

(given to volunteers in the community)

Berkmar: Jay and Robin Jett

Brookwood: Mike Mercier

Buford: Stan Quinn

Central Gwinnett: Tim and Debra Hunt

Collins Hill: James "Frosty" Plunkett

Dacula: Dan Buchanan

Duluth: Chuck Daughtry

GAC: Cheryl Chapple

Grayson: Jet Toney

Meadowcreek: Cruz Hunter, Dev-Ray Yarbrough

Mill Creek: Scott and Carla Evans

Norcross: Harvey Snider

North Gwinnett: Steve and Kim Jarry

Peachtree Ridge: Dale Sikes, Micki Kerns

Shiloh: Bernard McKie

South Gwinnett: Dana Doster

All-County First Team


QB Michael Tamburo, North Gwinnett

RB Cole Brodie, Dacula

RB Demetre Ledlum, Brookwood

RB Justin Thomas, Meadowcreek

WR Tremayne Graham, Parkview

WR Isiah Jupiter, Berkmar

WR Kurt Diel, Collins Hill

WR Darius Hanks, Norcross

TE Austin Wilson, Dacula

OL T.J. Hurless, Collins Hill

OL T-Bob Hebert, GAC

OL Mitchell King, Brookwood

OL Andrew Higgins, Duluth

OL Ben Jacoby, Buford


DL Eric Eberhardt, North Gwinnett

DL Sean Christy, South Gwinnett

DL T.J. Greenstone, Collins Hill

DL Brooks Cunningham, Norcross

LB Bryce Smith, Central Gwinnett

LB Tristan Strong, Grayson

LB Joe Moore, Brookwood

LB Matt Rucker, Parkview

LB Dexter Daffin, Dacula

DB Andrew Roesch, Parkview

DB Phillip Davis, Peachtree Ridge

DB Leonard Foster, Norcross

DB Meko McCray, GAC

PK Devin Sabina, Central Gwinnett

P Drew Butler, Peachtree Ridge

All-County Second Team


QB Lee Chapple, GAC

RB Craig Jackson, Collins Hill

RB Decorja Canada, Grayson

RB Quentin Cantrell, Buford

WR David Hendrix, Buford

WR Brice Butler, Norcross

WR Rolando Dyer, Central Gwinnett

TE Brandon McEachern, Buford

OL Nick Amon, Grayson

OL Josh Turner, Brookwood

OL Gerraid Fustos, Mill Creek

OL Clint Duggan, North Gwinnett

OL Travis Sanders,

Central Gwinnett


DL Omar Hunter, Buford

DL Dewayne Cherrington, Central Gwinnett

DL Kevin Minter, Berkmar

DL J.R. Jones, Norcross

LB Andy Barry, Grayson

LB Dion DuBose, Norcross

LB Trey Hunsucker, Buford

LB James Lewis, Collins Hill

DB Greg Carson, Duluth

DB Cameron Demps, North Gwinnett

DB Chris Wellborn, Collins Hill

DB Mario Arnold, Berkmar

PK Chad Gross, North Gwinnett

P Dawson Zimmerman, Brookwood


Honorable Mention:

Berkmar: T.J. Smith, J.J. Harbin, Jerry Gross, Alex Brown

Brookwood: Jared Mackey, A.J. Mackey, Jared Reine, Buddy Marietta

Buford: T.J. Pridemore, Dallas Lee, Demetris Murray, Twoey Hosch

Central Gwinnett: Manuel Rodriguez, Richard Milton, Gio De La Pena, Diante Drake

Collins Hill: Bo Adebayo, Taylor Gayle, Brent McDonald, Josh Sneed

Dacula: Kyle White, Greg Taphouse, Josh Greeson, Zach Scruggs

Duluth: Broderick Simpson, Taylor Hart, Bo Venturi, J.D. Farrell

Grayson: Steven Caputo, Chris Cawthon, J.D. Hamil, Bradley Hamilton

GAC: Nick Biggee, Justin Schneider, Trey Harber, Landon Bennett

Meadowcreek: Phillip Pickens, Caleb Acea, Keverette Brown, Dernote Smith

Mill Creek: Darius Jackson, Ed Russ, Sean Cosby, Colin Stuart

Norcross: Matt Tribble, D.J. Jones, Tyler Maloof, Devonta Bolton

North Gwinnett: Chris Knox, Jasper Williams, Evan Gilles, Brandon Rodd

Parkview: Winton Steward, Clayton Wilkin, Brandon Evans, Brandon Jacobs

Peachtree Ridge: Derrick Bryant, Aaron Blue, Breland Trahan, Blake Baur

Shiloh: Christian Jordan, Timothy Olivar, Ira Johnson, Ernst Brun

South Gwinnett: Chris Lamar, Kaleb Myrick, Travis Adcock, Taylor Schindler

Wesleyan: Andrew Donovan, Jo Jo Catrini, Edward Van Winkle, Michael Kress

- From staff reports