Town to celebrate its 90th birthday

Happy 90th birthday, Braselton.

The town that sits on the four corners of Gwinnett, Barrow, Jackson and Hall counties is celebrating its ninth decade with a party Monday.

"Our future is our theme," said Mayor Pat Graham, who will host the party.

The celebration includes a deejay, interactive games, a magic show and Doodle the Clown from 4 to

6 p.m. in Braselton Park. About 5 p.m., the mayor will cut ceremonial cakes, and participants can enjoy Mayfield ice cream from the nearby dairy.

Braselton's largest grocers, Kroger and Publix, will compete in a themed cake-decorating contest.

"Having a kids-themed birthday party is altogether appropriate," said Bev Adkins, the town's librarian. "We've had a phenomenal summer reading series, so we're inviting local children who enjoyed the library and its outreach."

Braselton was chartered by the General Assembly of Georgia on Aug. 21, 1916. Earlier this year, Sen. Casey Cagle, R-Gainesville, authored a resolution commending the town's history and progress.

Graham gets appointment

Mayor Graham celebrated another honor last week.

She was appointed to serve on the Georgia Municipal Association's Legislative Policy Council. The council is responsible for proposing the association's platform for handling matters at the General Assembly and in Congress as well as engaging other city officials in the legislative process throughout the year.

"Mayor Graham has extensive knowledge of both municipal issues and the legislative process, making her an outstanding candidate for the Legislative Policy Council," said GMA Executive Director Jim Higdon. "The leadership she provides will be an asset to cities in her area of the state throughout the legislative process."

The municipal association is an advocacy, educational and consulting service for 500 cities in the state.

Gwinnett has fared well in terms of leadership on the association. Earlier this year, Suwanee Mayor Nick Mason was elected to an at-large spot on the board of directors, and Duluth Mayor Pro Tem Doug Mundrick was elected as president of the northeast district. Snellville Mayor Jerry Oberholtzers chairs the transportation policy committee and Norcross Mayor Lillian Webb is active as a past president of the association.

Political Notebook appears in the Thursday and Sunday editions of the Gwinnett Daily Post.

Camie Young can be reached via e-mail at camie.young@gwinnettdailypost.com.