Gladiators to auction off jerseys at Arena

DULUTH - It's been just more than two months since the Gwinnett Gladiators last donned their jerseys, and now they're ready to be worn again - by you.

The Gladiators are auctioning off their 2005-06 jerseys, which carried the team through 72 regular-season games and a tremendous playoff run to the ECHL Kelly Cup finals. The auction is just part of a whole event planned for tonight at the Arena at Gwinnett Center.

Things start at 7 p.m., and the auction is set for 8 p.m. in the arena's lobby. Bidding will start at $200, although in the past, some of the team's jerseys have sold for thousands. The black and white versions of most of the players' sweaters are available for purchase. A total of 37 jerseys are on the auction block.

A portion of the proceeds from the third annual sale will benefit the Gladiators Foundation for Kids. This is the first time Gwinnett has done a live end-of-the-season jersey auction. A silent online auction took place each of the past two seasons, but the team's front office was looking to change it up a little this year.

"You always want to come up with some way to stay in contact with the fans, and it's tough during the summer," Gladiators general manager Steve Chapman said. "This is a neat way to get everybody together."

Prior to the auction, fans can tour the arena and select the best seats available for the 2006-07 season. There's also going to be a behind-the-scenes tour of the facility that includes a stop in the Gladiators' locker room where head coach Jeff Pyle will update fans on the latest offseason news.

Fans are encouraged to bring their cameras and will have a chance to take a picture with the American Conference trophy as well as Jeff Campbell's ECHL MVP



•What: Gwinnett Gladiators third annual game-worn jersey auction and meet your seat night

•When: Today, 7 to 9 p.m.

•Where: Arena at Gwinnett Center, Duluth

•On the block: Black and white season jerseys for the following players are available - Jon Awe, Jimmy Sharrow (black only), Jeff Dwyer, Lane Manson, Troy Milam (white only), Brian Teixeira, Joel Stepp, Milan Gajic, Adam Courchaine, Danny Eberly, Matt York, Scott Mifsud, Jeff Campbell (black only), Adam Smyth, Derek Nesbitt (white only), Brad Schell, Josh Bennett (black only), Guillaume Desbiens (white only), Steve Slaton, Adam Berkhoel, Rick Emmett (white only) and Sean Fields