Principal kisses pig in Relay for Life fundraiser

The things educators will do to motivate students.

Dot Schoeller, principal of Simonton Elementary, promised to kiss a pig if her students collected $800 for Relay for Life, and what do you know ... the students brought in $1,350.

The principal kept her promise, and on the morning of May 16, Schoeller found herself face to face with a pig. But Schoeller went above and beyond, laying a wet one on not one baby pig, but two.

The pigs named Spots and Florena by students were adopted by the school and will visit annually, organizers said.

Getting rewards

The Gwinnett PTA Council awarded six $1,000 scholarships to deserving seniors at its annual May business meeting.

Each year the council an umbrella organization for the PTA units in Gwinnett's local schools honors students who show academic merit as well as financial need.

This year's winners were chosen from 82 applicants and are Vanessa Wragg of Norcross High School, Destiny Owens of South Gwinnett High School, Brendon Carrasquillo of Grayson High School, Brooke Noell of Central Gwinnett High School, Jordan Tobias "Toby" Whiting of North Gwinnett High School and Zena Yusuf of Grayson High School.

Behind the scenes

Gwinnett County Public Schools named the best bus drivers, bus monitors and custodians this month at various banquets.

June Daniel, a Berkmar Cluster driver, was named Regular Education Bus Manager of the Year. Belinda Johnson, who transports Gwinnett students attending the Atlanta Area School for the Deaf and the Georgia School for the Deaf, was named Special Needs Bus Manager of the Year. And Rebecca Albritton, who serves students in the Grayson Cluster, was announced as Bus Monitor of the Year.

At a recent breakfast, 34 head custodians were recognized for their service to the school system this year.

These professionals were selected based on attendance at monthly meetings, use of proper procedures, completion of hazard communication training, following time-management methods and using effective cleaning methods and efficient procedures, according to school officials.

The following exemplary head custodians were recognized:

Senada Ajanic of McKendree Elementary, Valerie Anderson of Norcross Elementary, Wesley Barrett of Five Forks Middle, Julie Beverly of Alton C. Crews Middle, Travis Blalock of J.A. Alford Elementary, David Duncan of Mill Creek High, Dean Eklund of Duluth High, Loretta English of Bethesda Elementary, Loyd Eubanks of Grayson Elementary, Deborah Free of Jackson Elementary, Connie Fulcher of Sycamore Elementary, Gloria Green of Level Creek Elementary, Vickie Hendrix of Freeman's Mill Elementary, Lisa Hodge of Central Gwinnett High, Ron Johnston of Grayson High, Nina Khokhlan of W.J. Cooper Elementary and Carol Logan of Margaret Winn Holt Elementary.

Also recognized were Chris MacArthur of Peachtree Ridge High, Debra McGaha of Dacula High, Beth Mundy of Craig Elementary, Dan Murphy of Pharr Elementary, Steve Nunley of Frank N. Osborne Middle, Bianca Portwood of Louise Radloff Middle, Carl Reese of Collins Hill High, Ana Sanchez of Hooper Renwick/GIVE Center, Cliff Shedd of Dr. M.H. Mason Jr. Elementary, John Sousa of Gwin Oaks Elementary, Shawn Staley of J.P. McConnell Middle, Pat Thrasher of Riverside Elementary, Joan Tullis of Harbins Elementary, Beth Wilson of Monarch School, Joe Wimmer of Fort Daniel Elementary, Sandra Woodyard of Berkmar High and Branka Zubcevic of Oakland School.

Jaime Sarrio is the education reporter for the Gwinnett Daily Post. Good News From Schools appears Sundays in the Post.