Cameron Smith's record-breaking season garnered statewide attention, earning the Brookwood senior Class AAAAA Offensive Player of the Year honors by the Georgia Sports Writers Association.

Smith and four other Gwinnett players made the GSWA All-State football teams, which were released Saturday and were selected by a panel of Georgia sports writers. The Bronco running back joined Parkview's Caleb King as the AAAAA All-State backs while North Gwinnett wide receiver Crawford Kilpatrick and Parkview tight end Michael Palmer also made the All-State squad.

Buford's Steven Singleton was on the AA All-State team on the offensive line.

Smith set Brookwood season records for rushing yards (2,434) and touchdowns (32) this past season and also tied a county record with seven TDs in a win over Meadowcreek, where he played before transferring to Brookwood for his senior season. He led the Broncos to a 14-1 record and a state runner-up finish in his only season with the program.

King rushed for a school-record 2,765 yards, believed to be the highest total in state history by a junior and the highest total ever in Georgia's largest classification. He scored 19 TDs.

Palmer, whose blocking played a part in King's big season, also caught 21 passes for 358 yards and five TDs. Kilpatrick caught 46 passes for 711 yards and nine TDs.

Buford's Steven Singleton, a high-level Division I prospect at offensive line, made the AA All-State team.

Seven other Gwinnett players were on the honorable mention All-State lists. Earning honorable mention acclaim in AAAAA were Brookwood linebacker Rennie Curran, Collins Hill running back Rock Robinson and North Gwinnett quarterback Bradd Schlosser. In AA, the honorable mention selections included Wesleyan quarterback Tony Plagman, Buford quarterback Justin Roper, Buford running back Matt Pridemore and Greater Atlanta Christian tight end Scott Fambrough.

Antonio Henton of Peach County was the overall State Player of the Year. Stephenson's Marcus Ball was the AAAAA Defensive Player of the Year and Lowndes' Randy McPherson was the AAAAA Coach of the Year.

In AA, Greene County's Josh Nesbitt (Offensive Player of the Year), Calhoun's Kris Durham (Defensive Player of the Year) and Charlton County's Rich McWhorter (Coach of the Year) took top honors.